See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Importing Tool Palettes

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-12
    Posts
    2


    Angry Importing Tool Palettes

    Hi Everyone,

    I am trying to install some new tool palettes and when I go to the customize screen and right click any existing tool palette to get the option of "Import...", no such exists...

    I have seen tutorials, help menus, etc. and it seems that everyone can right click to get the import option except me... What am I doing wrong?

    I have tried this in AutoCAD MEP 2012, 2013, 2014 with the same result. I have opened them as administrator and even tried to find other ways around this.

    Can someone help a bloke out here? Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,024


    Default Re: Importing Tool Palettes

    Certain vertical AutoCAD products include "project settings" which can affect tool palettes. I'd suggest checking boards dedicated to your appropriate product, rather than the general AutoCAD one, as those users will have a much better understanding of such nuances.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  3. #3
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,132


    Default Re: Importing Tool Palettes

    Quote Originally Posted by dgorsman View Post
    Certain vertical AutoCAD products include "project settings" which can affect tool palettes. I'd suggest checking boards dedicated to your appropriate product, rather than the general AutoCAD one, as those users will have a much better understanding of such nuances.
    I'll go ahead and move it over to the MEP forum, and hopefully someone there can provide insight.
    Thanks.
    not all those who wander are lost
    (missing MEP/FP and Revit)

  4. #4
    ACA Community Director dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Fluffya, PA
    Posts
    2,289


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: Importing Tool Palettes

    AMEP is built on top of ACA, so I assume they treat tool palettes the same way. ACA and AMEP have enhanced tools that vanilla AutoCAD does not have, and, I have been told, these tools do not work with the vanilla AutoCAD Export/Import feature for tool palettes. Instead, Content Browser and Tool Catalogs are provided as the means of sharing tool palettes and tools.
    David Koch

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2013-12
    Posts
    2


    Default Re: Importing Tool Palettes

    Thanks, Dave.

    I purchased some symbols from a standards company recently and they came as .xtp and .xpg file extensions... will we somehow have to convert those to the .atc file extension type so that we can utilize the content tool method that you alluded to?

    Thanks,
    Jimmy

  6. #6
    ACA Community Director dkoch's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-03
    Location
    Fluffya, PA
    Posts
    2,289


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: Importing Tool Palettes

    If you run AMEP using an "as AutoCAD" profile, the ARX modules for AMEP will not load and you should have access to the AutoCAD tool palette import feature. Once you have the palettes imported into a local workspace, you should then be able to launch AMEP "as itself" and still have access to those tool palettes. You could then launch Content Browser and add those palettes to a tool catalog.
    David Koch

Similar Threads

  1. CP223-1: Trick Up Your Tool Palettes: How to Make Your Tool Palettes Do Even More!
    By Autodesk University in forum Customization and Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-07, 05:17 PM
  2. How custom tool button images are created for tool palettes
    By Mike.Perry in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2012-10-09, 02:44 PM
  3. Tool Palettes & Tool Palette Group Names
    By sovby254640 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-05-13, 11:27 PM
  4. importing exporting tool palettes
    By rstiles in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2011-01-14, 02:42 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-10-25, 07:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •