Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Textures within xref not updating in main drawing

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Monterey, Ca
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Textures within xref not updating in main drawing

    I'm working on a complex factory and have most of the components as xrefs in the main site drawing. I have been making tweaks to the textures but cannot get them to update in the main drawing unless I detatch and reattach them. I've searched everywhere for a solution but have come up with nothing. I even tried setting visretain to 0 for all the drawings. I'm working in standard ACAD 2014. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Textures within xref not updating in main drawing

    I've never been able to find a solution for it either. When you stated it was complex that pretty much is the reason. I have had to find work arounds.
    1) Detach and Reattach as you stated.
    2) Detach and insert as block
    3) Detach and insert as exploded block
    4) Last resort Create drawing only for rendering copy and insert all items.

    The last one always works and after I get my rendering I delete the file unless I have to make another.
    Hopefully someone else has a better solution.
    Good luck

  3. #3
    Active Member dervin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Southeastern USA
    Posts
    65
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Textures within xref not updating in main drawing

    I'm assuming that you have tried the reload function. Right click the file name in the External References palette, select reload.

    Sometimes it's related to blocks. Edited blocks in the xref and a block by the same name in the host drawing. AutoCAD will not redefine blocks in the host to match changed blocks in the xref. If you have ever inserted the xref file into the host and deleted it, the blocks are in the host. In that case, purge the blocks in the host drawing then xref. Maybe?

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: exporting from 3dsMax to Navisworks 2015 with textures materials (jpg files) - textures not displayed
    By dominique.lauvernier675715 in forum NavisWorks - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-07-01, 09:30 AM
  2. Layer Groups in an XREF Imported into Main Drawing
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-06-10, 02:17 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-09-01, 01:42 PM
  4. Updating an Xref
    By BCrouse in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-08-19, 09:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •