Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: XenDesktop VDI office-wide for Revit

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-11
    Posts
    1


    Default XenDesktop VDI office-wide for Revit

    I'd like to know if any architectural firms with +/- 30 users have attempted to completely virtualize all CAD and Revit users' computers and provide thin clients instead of workstations. I imagine you would need a massively powerful server to deliver acceptable performance, but I'd like to know if anyone has had any experiences, either good or bad, attempting this. We're looking at Citrix XenDesktop VDI.

    All I got from Autodesk when I asked was this article, which doesn't really talk about performance or user experience. http://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppor...F55E2-htm.html

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,195


    Default Re: XenDesktop VDI office-wide for Revit

    Quote Originally Posted by esaltz683161 View Post
    I'd like to know if any architectural firms with +/- 30 users have attempted to completely virtualize all CAD and Revit users' computers and provide thin clients instead of workstations. I imagine you would need a massively powerful server to deliver acceptable performance, but I'd like to know if anyone has had any experiences, either good or bad, attempting this. We're looking at Citrix XenDesktop VDI.

    All I got from Autodesk when I asked was this article, which doesn't really talk about performance or user experience. http://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppor...F55E2-htm.html
    Welcome to AUGI.

    While not working for an architectural firm, nor do we have 30 users, I've been looking for ways to introduce VDI into our environment having recently upgraded from Windows Server 2003 SBS, Exchange 2003, WinXP Pro x86, Land Desktop 2004 to VLSC Windows Server 2012 R2, Exchange 2013, Win8.1 Pro x64, IDSP 2015.

    More specifically, to implement VDI for non-critical production workstations first, such as Admin, reprographic, and survey crew (time cards, internet only) machines... This would provide a test environment for me to assess, and potentially leverage as use case for future server upgrade plans with the owner (to whom I report).



    Not sure what server hardware you already have and are planning to use, or new hardware you're planning to implement, but you're effectively moving all of your processing for each user to the server to be done in parallel... Your resultant server cluster will have to be capable of dynamically handling that load. You can setup your environment in myriad configurations, and each has their trade-offs; the biggest being cost.

    As example (forgive the Hyper-V terminology), if you have a server with dual Oct-Core Xeon processors, 64 GB RAM, and Quad-Gigabit NIC, you can distribute a maximum of 3 virtual machines with 4 virtual processors, 16 GB RAM, and a dedicated vEthernet virtual switch connection (maybe you need more, or less?).

    [Edit] - Saving the remaining resources for your host's consumption. Again, depending on your environment, your host(s) may need to run on more, or less.

    You can obviously implement better server specs, and/or multiple servers, but you're going to have to clearly identify both the requirements you need to meet today, and those down the road to cover on-demand 'upgrades' (i.e., on the fly VM settings changes) through your upgrade cycle's term (i.e., 4 years, etc.), just as you would for an environment of per-user physical workstations.

    There's certainly more to consider, but this is the best I could offer passing through on a quick lunch break.

    Cheers
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2014-11-19 at 06:32 PM.
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-09-07, 01:03 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-09-09, 05:02 PM
  3. Revit Tool Guide And Office Wide Learning
    By whatisrice in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-07-16, 08:01 PM
  4. Office Wide Default Palatte
    By willc in forum ACA General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-05-06, 10:48 PM
  5. Implementation of Revit Office-Wide Workshop
    By Cyril Verley in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-11-23, 09:37 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •