Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

  1. #1
    Past Vice President / AUGI Volunteer peter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-09
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    1,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    OK I am sure all of us have faced difficult LISP puzzles that we became frustrated with and gave up on.

    I was wondering if any of you can remember those puzzles and maybe describe them here?

    P=
    AutomateCAD

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Posts
    535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    We are not talking about "challenge" here are we? but "troublesome" codes?

    Lisp routines that "almost" does want you want 9 out 10 but not really doing what it needs to do 1/10? I think i may have encountered a few, on some other forums, like a "what the?!?" moment.

    I'll go track these down and throw it here, I remember once reading one of your post you love solving puzzles [lisp codes that is]

  3. #3
    Past Vice President / AUGI Volunteer peter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-09
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    1,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    I suppose it could be either "troublesome code" that doesn't do exactly what you want or just "I had this idea for a routine but I could never get it to work".

    P=
    AutomateCAD

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Posts
    535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    Ok then, I have this idea, its more like a request that i never got around to write. Say you have a drawing with an xref [for some reasons its rotated/not on 0,0,0 coordinate/non world UCS]. The current view is zoomed-in on a particular area, and the user press right click "Open Xref", when the Xref is opened it is on the same view as the source drawing.

    I know you can use Edit-Xref-in-place. but for the life of me i can't remember the primary reason why the user requested this feature. But anyhoo. can it be done under the conditions i just specified above?

    Any thoughts?

    EDIT: You dont have to write the code [ now ] You can post a pseudo code and we will take a crack at it. will that work for you?

  5. #5
    Past Vice President / AUGI Volunteer peter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-09
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    1,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    My first thought is using the UCS e (entity) option and UCSFollow set to 1 to change the ucs to be aligned with the xref.

    Then -refedit the xref and there are various ways to manipulate the view to match the size shape of the view prior to the ucs command.

    Do you want to change the ucs to align with the xref or with the drawing?

    p=
    AutomateCAD

  6. #6
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Posts
    535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    Here's one Peter

    I have a drawing list , How can i pass the names on the list to use for publish using lisp? create a DSD [ Drawing Set Description ] file perhaps?

  7. #7
    Past Vice President / AUGI Volunteer peter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-09
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    1,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    I looked at it.

    It seems that Publish is one of those commands that demands a dialog.

    I will continue to explore this.

    Do you know of a way to publish without a dialog?

    P=
    AutomateCAD

  8. #8
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    Publish without the dialog - yes, when using the Autopublish mechanism (since 2009).

    Simply apply a named page setup to Layout, and configure via Options, Plot tab, bottom left; I produce a PDF of each sheet at drawing SAVE* in +/- 1/4 the time it take to PLOT same.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  9. #9
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Posts
    535
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    Quote Originally Posted by peter View Post
    Do you know of a way to publish without a dialog?
    Thank you for looking into this Peter.

    The usual hyphen prefix "-". but you need a DSD file at the ready.

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    Publish without the dialog - yes, when using the Autopublish mechanism (since 2009).

    Simply apply a named page setup to Layout, and configure via options, Plot tab, bottom left; I produce a PDF of each sheet at drawing SAVE* in +/- 1/4 the time it take to PLOT same.

    Cheers
    But what of the drawing list?

    The plan was ,Select a folder, select files , run a program thru ODBX. and then the the previous selected files would be passed on to publish command as DSD

    I know it can be done with SSM Blackbox [ easy cheesy ]

    BTW: can one plot to pdf thru ODBX? sans command <-- reason for the Q. am still using 2009 , maybe there's a capability to do that in the newer versions.
    Last edited by pbejse; 2015-05-17 at 03:44 PM.

  10. #10
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Most frustrating LISP Puzzle

    If you're wanting to do this via code for the sake of doing so, drive on.

    If you're wanting to have the simplest means by which to publish, use Autopublish, and simply combine/plot the specific PDFs using Windows context menu, as the resultant PDFs are produced when you save the parent drawing, likely in less time than it would take for you to manually navigate to said folder.

    While I do use SSM for project management, I do not use SSM for publishing drawings, as it is slower than Autopublish - which is available to 2009, when it was first introduced with the PUBLISHCOLLATE sysvar.

    Cheers
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2015-05-17 at 04:51 PM. Reason: iPhone autocorrect typos. Grrr
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: Frustrating dialog box - Revit MEP
    By russell.eckstein in forum Revit MEP - Families
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-10-24, 06:13 PM
  2. Several Questions-Frustrating
    By utakecare2003 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-07-26, 07:27 PM
  3. frustrating grid problem
    By kathey1 in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-05-20, 09:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •