Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-03
    Posts
    4


    Unhappy Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Good afternoon.
    I am trying to install Revit Server 2016 on a virtual machine with Windows Server 2012 R2. My purpose is to test if I need to rent an external VPS, or my office is small enough to my own server.
    I followed the installation steps in Autodesk page:
    -Install Server System Prerequisites for Windows Server 2012 - https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...04CEB-htm.html
    -Install and configure - https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...A3C72-htm.html

    My problem is focused on the following. In Windows Server, I created a RSN.INI file: C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\Revit Server 2016\Config, and have written inside:
    Code:
    rvtserver
    Test1
    I test load in Internet Explorer the following address:
    Code:
    http://localhost/RevitServerAdmin2016/
    The servers are shown, but with a red cross to the left of each. On the right, the message appears to me, 'Not available' under each server.

    01.JPG

    What could be my problem? What am I missing? I've checked everything, but obviously I'm missing something.
    Ideas?
    Last edited by ivan.gomez724160; 2016-03-30 at 05:49 PM.

  2. #2
    100 Club meng005's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    177


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Verify the IIS settings and that the port 808 is open. Telnet Test1 808.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-03
    Posts
    4


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Thank you for your help.
    Apparently, IIS server settings are correct, I have revised again.
    Regarding the port 808, when I do a 'telnet', I get an error:
    'Connecting to Test1 ... you can not open connection to the host, on port 808: Connection failed'
    01.JPG

    How I can open the port?

  4. #4
    100 Club meng005's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    177


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Open the Windows Firewall, and add inbound/outbound rules on the server, where Revit Server is installed: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...#1TC=windows-7

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-03
    Posts
    4


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Thank you very much for your help.
    I tried to install Windows Server completely and I followed your instructions. I still can not work with Revit Server.

    01.JPG

  6. #6
    100 Club meng005's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    177


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Try this:

    At an elevated DOS prompt on the Revit Server:

    CD C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319 press enter,
    and then run the “aspnet_regiis –I” command.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-03
    Posts
    4


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    Thank you for your patience.

    I just use the Shell as Administrator. I entered:

    Code:
    CD C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319
    aspnet_regiis –I
    This message appears:
    01.JPG

    Then I introduced this other command:

    Code:
    .\aspnet_regiis –I
    This message appears:
    02.JPG

    Then I downloaded and installed Microsoft .NET Framework 4.6.1 from here:
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/down....aspx?id=49981

    I continue with the same error.

  8. #8
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-08
    Posts
    1


    Default Re: Can't configure Revit Server 2016.

    I know is an old thread but there is a solution.
    With Server 2016 Application 2016 has been depreciated and replaced with WCF.
    Under Add features you need to select .net Framework 4.6 features
    Check WCF Services select
    -Http Activation
    -TCP Activation and port sharing


    Along with IIS 7 you should be set.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-12-30, 01:52 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-10, 07:05 PM
  3. [3dsmax 2016 - Maya 2016] Extension 1
    By METANAMORPHOSE in forum Français - 3ds Max / Maya
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-08-13, 11:47 AM
  4. 2013: Revit Server 2013 on Windows Server 2012
    By l.southwood350110 in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2014-08-01, 08:19 AM
  5. Migrating a Revit File Server to New Server
    By jrichardson in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2011-06-07, 11:39 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •