Thread: Extracting curve data from 3D Polyline

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Extracting curve data from 3D Polyline

Hello all,

Our company has recently started working with HDS and the point cloud data that comes with it. We scanned a slide and we're trying to figure out to extract the radii from the curves. The Point Cloud Software (Leica's Cyclone Program) allowed me to take shots along the slide every foot like a surveyor would, I exported those points as a CSV file, and imported it into CAD. So now I have a fancy 3D Polyline (exploded the survey figure into it) with its curves along the Z axis, but I have zero experience with 3D drafting so I have no idea what to do with it.

The bottom line is I have a 3D Polyline in CAD and I have no idea how to get this thing turned into a curve and then able to annotate it to see the curve data. If I could flip this thing to be on the X and Y axis I think I could create arcs from it, but I've been flailing with the 3DROTATE command.

Drawing attached.

Thanks
    Attached Files Attached Files

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Extracting curve data from 3D Polyline

if you have 3d polyline there is a tool in the grading objects to convert it to a 2d polyline it you can label. Warning you will need to check for non-tangent curves

Login to Give a bone

3D polylines do not allow for curves. Vectors only.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Login to Give a bone

Quote Originally Posted by Varlth View Post
    .....with its curves along the Z axis, but I have zero experience with 3D drafting so I have no idea what to do with it.
    What do you want... to do with it?

It's a straight line in plan view, with varying elevations along the line.

Quote Originally Posted by Varlth