See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Sharing an AutoCAD license on the Network.

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    98


    Default Sharing an AutoCAD license on the Network.

    I have an off site employee login into my server from another state. I am trying to get him connect to see one of my AutoCAD licenses.
    I can ping the server from his laptop how ever AutoCAD does not see the license and will not connect? We are connecting on 10.71 and 10.143
    we have the ports 2080 open. Do not know why my AutoCAD is not getting thru to find the licence file? Anyone have any idea of what I can try next to make it see the file?

  2. #2
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,125


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: Sharing an AutoCAD license on the Network.

    Have you considered having the off-site employee RDP into your terminal server, then have your NETLOGON script RDP user into a physical workstation which consumes AutoCAD?

    RDP will yield substantially improved performance, over that of VPN/IPSEC (IPv4), or Direct Access (IPv6), and will be less load on the servers, given the 'traffic' is technically coming from an internal client.



    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,534


    Default Re: Sharing an AutoCAD license on the Network.

    Seems that would be overkill if the goal is merely to get a license from the license server... In particular having a spare CAD machine laying around that no-one uses to free it up for the remote user to tag into.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,023


    Default Re: Sharing an AutoCAD license on the Network.

    Stupid question time: is the environment variable for the Autodesk license server set on the users computer? And is the ACAD installed as a local license?
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  5. #5
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,125


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: Sharing an AutoCAD license on the Network.

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    Seems that would be overkill if the goal is merely to get a license from the license server... In particular having a spare CAD machine laying around that no-one uses to free it up for the remote user to tag into.
    Having worked in CAD over VPN/IPSEC (previously), and over RDP (now), I categorically reject the premise of it being overkill, as it (RDP) still lacks the desired performance (at times). Haha


    That said, they already have the CAD machine... Single license.

    Now, that machine could still be needed or in use (without CAD), which would obviously gum up the works... But the OP didn't provide enough information to make such a determination, hence the suggestion.


    Cheers
    "Potential has a shelf life." - Margaret Atwood
    AutoCAD, and Civil 3D Certified Professional | Autodesk Authorized Developer
    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD / Revit series network license issue
    By tim.101799 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-10-15, 03:34 PM
  2. Revit network license not found but Autocad does
    By jack.hall.258871 in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-08-13, 06:18 AM
  3. Sharing Tool Palettes on the network from AutoCAD LT
    By Andrew Dobson in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-11-23, 06:25 AM
  4. AutoCAD 2006 & 2007 network license conundrum
    By tim.101799 in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-09-09, 11:46 AM
  5. AutoCAD 2000i and LT 2006 sharing Plot settings on a network
    By cadmecheng in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-07-20, 08:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •