Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Editing surface styles

  1. #1
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    182


    Question Editing surface styles

    I have a site with three surfaces. The existing conditions, which I have set to Contours (background); the proposed grading, set to Contours (design) and the third surface, which represents the part of the site which will be underwater, I want in a third style. None of the out-of-the-box styles suit my needs, so I copied the Design style, intending to edit it, to change the appearance - layers, colors, etc. On the display tab of the surface style dialog box, the only thing I am able to edit are the names of the component type. Clicking on the layer names, colors, linetypes, etc. does nothing.

  2. #2
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    Any clues on how to even create an editable surface style? I created a style from scratch and was able to change things on all tabs except the display tab. So, when I switched my surface properties to the new style, the only thing visible was the border.

    I've searched other websites and I found another person in the Autodesk forums who had the same problem, but there were no answers there, either.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    237


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    Any chance you could post a screen capture of the open style editor with the display tab selected? and if you could include the toolspace in the view so we can see where the surface style is?

    Is it possible you have multiple files open and you're editing a style that's not in the current drawing?

  4. #4
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    I created the style in the drawing I'm working in. Here's the screen shot.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/u8nv4l978m...style.jpg?dl=0

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-05
    Posts
    1


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    Not sure what the problem is in that screen shot. What exactly do you think you can't edit in the display tab? If you click the the listed layer for say "points" a window should pop up allowing for you to create a new layer to use or select a different existing layer. If you click the color, a window should pop up allowing for you to change the color. If these windows aren't popping up, then you have a problem, but if they are, I'm not sure what else you'd be talking about. You don't add or delete components in the display tab.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    479


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    looks like you're in paper space and on a layout tab for your new style. any chance the layers for the contours are viewport frozen?
    Robert

  7. #7
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    The boundary layer might be viewport frozen, but the same behavior occurs in model space. Clicking on anything on the display tab only allows me change the name of the component type. I cannot change anything else. No pop-up windows appear, the light bulbs do not go on or off. Nothing happens at all except the component name gets highlighted.
    Last edited by jgrande26; 2017-05-19 at 01:26 PM.

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2014-08
    Posts
    275


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    this seems pretty obvious that I didn't think to ask is the surface locked

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    479


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    i'm using c3d 2016, locked one of my surfaces which was set to a no display style, went into settings, style, display tab and was able to change colors of the triangles with no problem.
    idk what to suggest.
    Robert

  10. #10
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    182


    Default Re: Editing surface styles

    No the surface isn't locked. I recently upgraded to 2018 and am experiencing the same thing. I found one other person on the Autodesk discussion forums who was having the same issue, but no solution was posted.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Editing styles for multiple surfaces
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-05-24, 04:44 PM
  2. Enhanced Surface Styles - Analysis Styles
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-10-10, 01:01 PM
  3. 2013: Editing Civil 3D Surface using Edit Surface command
    By louise.hilton861522 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-11-15, 09:55 AM
  4. Editing Label Styles
    By mustangrider2 in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-08-06, 11:04 PM
  5. Editing Visual Styles
    By Mike Y in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-09-19, 09:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •