Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: road staking out- setting out problem

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-05
    Posts
    2


    Default road staking out- setting out problem

    we are running C3D2017 & have a road design that is made of LH corridor & RH corridor format together with a centreline alignment but are having problems getting the data extracted so the surveyor can stake out/set out the road edges/ curbs/ channels/ storm drains. We can do a report for the centre line alignment using station/chainages with set distance offsets, the problem is this report doesn't give us transition points, eg. the point from a curb/ kerb straight string to curve string & vice versa or where the road widens & narrows each side, also we cant extract the low points for storm drains around these curbs/kerbs. Surely there must be a report for the road edges as how can you stake/set out a road from just a centreline or are we building the model wrong & should be using something other than corridors like doing the edges as alignments??

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Hartford, Michigan
    Posts
    3,188


    Default Re: road staking out- setting out problem

    Welcome to AUGI and congrats on your first post.
    I'm not sure if it helps in your situation, but what we do for road staking is to place points in the drawing and then export a point file. There are several tools that can be used to place the points at the elevation of the surface created by a corridor, or to generate a feature line and place points on the feature line.
    Christopher T. Cowgill, P.E.
    WIGHTMAN & ASSOCIATES, INC.
    ENGINEERING <> SURVEYING <> ARCHITECTURE
    AEC Collection Civil 3D 2018
    Windows 10

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-05
    Posts
    2


    Default Re: road staking out- setting out problem

    do you mean manually like this?
    Untitled.jpg

    isnt it strange that you can go to all the trouble of designing a road yet there is no custom report to build it!!!
    Last edited by andyfiggy2002; 2017-05-23 at 08:34 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Problem with trying to set a civil 3d setting
    By ccalder in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2014-08-28, 02:41 PM
  2. 2011: Problem Computing Volumes along Road Alignment
    By karl.raynar351849 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-01-15, 12:43 AM
  3. Pipe Network Point Staking
    By Civil 3D Wishes in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-10-06, 01:56 AM
  4. Prototype setting problem
    By todd.80290 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Land Desktop Companion - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-01-10, 06:45 AM
  5. Road output: Create Road Surface
    By DBill2508 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Land Desktop Companion - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-09-10, 12:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •