Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    13


    Default How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    Hi
    I have several tool palettes that I created on my PC and have now exported and 5 other people use them on their machines.
    They have been running fine, but just recently every time Auto CAD is started up, a 'New Palette' (blank) tab is added to the tool palette bar.
    Any ideas why this happens and how best to fix it?
    Thanks
    Kieran

    - AutoCAD LT 2018

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-04
    Location
    Akron, OH
    Posts
    12


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    Hello Kieran,

    This could happen for a few different reasons. Does it happen on the 5 other users or just yours? If its just yours i would check the Tool Palettes File locations folder in your options (Files Tab) and open that location in a windows browser. Look in there to verify if there is not a "NEW" blank palette saved in there that it keeps loading up when CAD is started. If there is one in there it needs to be deleted from the folder as well as from the tool palettes bar.

    If this is not the case let me know and we can move on from there.

    Thanks,

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    13


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    Quote Originally Posted by jujohnson697809 View Post
    Hello Kieran,

    This could happen for a few different reasons. Does it happen on the 5 other users or just yours? If its just yours i would check the Tool Palettes File locations folder in your options (Files Tab) and open that location in a windows browser. Look in there to verify if there is not a "NEW" blank palette saved in there that it keeps loading up when CAD is started. If there is one in there it needs to be deleted from the folder as well as from the tool palettes bar.

    If this is not the case let me know and we can move on from there.

    Thanks,
    Hi
    The 'New Palette' comes up on other machines too, I had 5 on mine today!
    There is no new palette when I look in the windows browser file location.
    Kieran

    Capture.PNG

    Also there are new files created on the above screen shot.
    The next screen shot is a new folder that has appeared with more ATC files in.
    Capture2.PNG
    Last edited by Kieran105; 2017-05-26 at 03:29 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    13


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    I've double checked and not everyone is getting the new palette. One users PC keeps loosing the network drive and the autocad automatically puts a new tool palette in.
    Would it be best to start again with the palettes and delete everything and then re-export them all?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-04
    Location
    Akron, OH
    Posts
    12


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    I would recommend moving the palettes to a shared network location and adding a path to that location on the other users machines. It helps if you are the only one with write access to the folder since it seems you are the moderator of the palettes. If you do this it will also help to get rid of the "exporting" them and having to load them on the other computers since everyone will be pointing to the folder where you create them.

    Essentially as you create palettes on your CAD it loads them to the folder and then when the other users restart CAD it will only load those palettes located in the folder. Gives you more contorl over content and being able to keep an eye oout for the Random "New" palettes CAD creates in the situation you described below.

    Let me know if this could be a solution for you and i will see if i can find any good reference information to help you out.

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    295


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    There is a pdf at the bottom of the following link that I found very useful.

    http://forums.augi.com/showthread.ph...-tool-palettes

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    13


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    Quote Originally Posted by jujohnson697809 View Post
    I would recommend moving the palettes to a shared network location and adding a path to that location on the other users machines. It helps if you are the only one with write access to the folder since it seems you are the moderator of the palettes. If you do this it will also help to get rid of the "exporting" them and having to load them on the other computers since everyone will be pointing to the folder where you create them.

    Essentially as you create palettes on your CAD it loads them to the folder and then when the other users restart CAD it will only load those palettes located in the folder. Gives you more contorl over content and being able to keep an eye oout for the Random "New" palettes CAD creates in the situation you described below.

    Let me know if this could be a solution for you and i will see if i can find any good reference information to help you out.
    Hi
    The only one that I have found with the new palette is the PC that keeps loosing the shared network drive. He wasn't in today and I didn't get any new palettes on my CAD, so that has to be the problem.
    I will redo the palettes in a new folder and make them read only.
    How do you make them read only as I haven't seen the option before while making the palettes?
    Kieran

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-04
    Location
    Akron, OH
    Posts
    12


    Default Re: How to share Tool Palettes in an office environment

    When you create the folder on the network you have to set permissions for who is able to write to it under the folder properties (right click on folder) using the security tab. My IT department has to set these permissions. you would need to set yourself as write/read and everyone you don't want creating palettes as read only, and to whomever is set as "Read only" the palettes will show up with a lock symbol on them and they can't do anything but use them in CAD.

    The link that MMccall shared below has good information in it to help set these up.

Similar Threads

  1. What's the best way to share tool palettes?
    By Pierre P in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 2016-02-10, 05:33 PM
  2. 2014: Most Reilable Method Of Creating Office Tool Palettes On The Network
    By omorah in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2015-02-16, 12:58 PM
  3. Inter Office Dynamic Block Sharing and the use of Tool Palettes
    By sschwartz in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 2010-11-28, 10:32 AM
  4. Using office custom Tool Palettes at home
    By .chad in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-04-21, 01:06 PM
  5. Create and share multiple Tool Palettes in AutoCAD 2005
    By caduzer in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-12-08, 07:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •