See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: more linetype issues

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    478


    Default more linetype issues

    see the appearance column in the attached jpg.

    i was working in a drawing using the gas line linetype from our template. i'm not sure what or when it happened, but the
    linetype went really screwy. it kinda looks like the picture. i've tried audit, recover, purged all the linetypes, including the gas line one.
    reloaded the gas linetype with design center from the template, nothing fixed.

    if i open a new drawing, use that linetype, no problem.

    any suggestions?

    Thanks
    Robert

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2014-08
    Posts
    274


    Default Re: more linetype issues

    no attachment

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    478


    Default Re: more linetype issues

    sorry about that. as a sidenote, i inserted the drawing into a blank drawing, seemed to be okay. however
    all my settings for my cogo points (which some were in a dragged state and some were rotated) lost their settings as well as my alignment properties.

    also tried a save as.....didn't work.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Robert

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,524


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: more linetype issues

    check the text style definition, possibly using a different font than the linetype expects
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    478


    Default Re: more linetype issues

    thanks for the help everyone. found the problem. as cadtag suggested the font used in the linetype definition somehow got changed in the current drawing and the text size was huge causing the text
    in the linetype to be larger than it needed to be.
    Robert

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    2,978


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: more linetype issues

    Quote Originally Posted by rmk View Post
    thanks for the help everyone. found the problem. as cadtag suggested the font used in the linetype definition somehow got changed in the current drawing and the text size was huge causing the text
    in the linetype to be larger than it needed to be.
    Yes this is a common problem we see all the time.

    Most vanilla AutoCAD linetypes with text use the OOTB text style named "standard", and is expected to have a height value of "0" for the line type text to scale properly for the ltscale.
    Those OOTB line types with text take on the properties of the current "standard" text style per drawing file.

    And so if a user changes the text style "standard" font and height in a drawing file, the line types are effected, the line type text will be the font of whatever is assigned to "standard" in that drawing, and if other than "zero" height, the text height is locked in to that height no matter what ltscale is.

    The bottom line is, people need to treat the OOTB text style named "standard" like you would layer zero, assign a proper font such as RomanS.shx (or whatever make your line types work), keep the height at zero, and create other text styles for everything else.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 7 Professional
    AutoCAD 2017 - REVIT 2017 - Inventor Professional 2015 (when I can)

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    2,595


    1 members found this post helpful.

    Default Re: more linetype issues

    Always thought it was unfortunate complex linetypes were added one version before multiline text. Wouldn't it be nice to reference a font instead of a text style inside a linetype like you can inside multiline text? How about center justified text with a background mask. No more need for padding blank area or X & Y adjustments.

    AutoCAD r13 was poorly thrown together and while r14 and others since have made vast improvements I've always been disappointed AutoCAD hasn't readdressed this one issue.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2018 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Rated "Linetype" Symbol Array Issues
    By 58D Pilot in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-11-26, 09:21 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-06-25, 12:40 AM
  3. I'm trying to create a linetype that has 8" in the linetype
    By mikeprentiss in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-08-17, 12:11 PM
  4. Extract Linetype information from a custom Linetype
    By H.Hunter in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-08-15, 05:27 AM
  5. Autodesk Issues Tech Bulletin: Service Issues Affecting Revit9-Based Software
    By jobcaptain in forum Revit - Known Issues & Work-Arounds (Read only)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-05-02, 04:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •