Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-04
    Location
    California
    Posts
    33


    Default Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    Hey guys,
    I have a drawing that currently has 210 layers. For this drawing I only need about 20 max. I tried to purge the layers that I know have nothing on them but Civil 3D will not allow it. These seem to be National Cad standard layers. All these extra layers just make using the program difficult when I search for a particular layer. How do I purge them?
    PS For some reason the program did let me purge 26 (I started with 236 layers) of the layers but that is all...interesting.

    As always,
    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    237


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    If a layer is specified in one of the Civil 3D styles, used in a block that style uses, or referenced in a command default settings then it can't be deleted/purged.

    You can merge the unwanted layers to make them go away.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2014-08
    Posts
    274


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    Try purging unused styles then purge the unused layers

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    2,595


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    Rather than trying to delete layers Civil 3D may need later why not just add a filter?
    Create a Layer Filter named No Civil and set the Name to ~?-*
    None of the layers that start with a single character followed by a - will display.
    With the Name ~[A,C,E,L,V]-* no layers that start with A,C,E,L, or V followed by a - will display.
    Last edited by Tom Beauford; 2017-08-09 at 05:40 PM.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2018 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-04
    Location
    California
    Posts
    33


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    Someone suggested using the LAYDEL command which will allow you to delete layers even if those layers are associated with blocks or whatever. This command did the job for me.

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    9,060


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    Quote Originally Posted by tadthurston725387 View Post
    Someone suggested using the LAYDEL command which will allow you to delete layers even if those layers are associated with blocks or whatever. This command did the job for me.
    Be sure to run an AUDIT on the drawing after doing this, because if LAYDEL deleted layers that are referenced in your C3D styles, there will be issues, as described here.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    4


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    I would do a EXPORTTOAUTOCAD2000, that will get rid of any Civil 3D styles
    And/or Merge the layers you do not want/need to 0 in the layer manager

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    2,595


    Default Re: Purge layers that no known data is on yet Civil 3D will not remove

    Quote Originally Posted by The CADFather View Post
    I would do a EXPORTTOAUTOCAD2000, that will get rid of any Civil 3D styles
    And/or Merge the layers you do not want/need to 0 in the layer manager
    Should work, but why use a Civil 3D template to create a drawing if you didn't need all those styles and layers?
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2018 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Detach, Purge and Remove Links
    By Jrobker in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-10-02, 12:23 AM
  2. Managing Layers, unable to purge / remove Layers
    By asenbauer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-11-10, 09:50 AM
  3. Purge and remove layers filters when using Etransmit
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-06-07, 02:01 PM
  4. Purge to remove unreferenced XREFS and Images
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-02-02, 01:07 AM
  5. Unable to Purge / Remove Layers from drawing file
    By SaraS in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2005-12-19, 02:33 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •