See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: I just started with an Architectural firm as their new BIM Coordinator

Login to Give a bone

Cool I just started with an Architectural firm as their new BIM Coordinator

Hello, I am seeking some experienced ideas and suggestions. I just started with an Architectural firm as their new BIM Coordinator. This is a new position for me but I have been doing drafting and design for almost 40 years and have worked in many disciplines. Good news/bad news, almost 30 of that with AutoCAD since version 9. I have had training on Revit and Solidworks so I do have other training.

We are running AutoCAD AEC Suite with 50 seats. The interview members felt I had the right background, training and ability to do the job and I am going to give it my best. I have been running through the Revit training courses we have and trying to get up to speed, and reading many articles on what and how to do the job. But experience is always the best source. I am also lucky the person I am replacing is still with the firm and is helping get setup and he said he will help me when I have a questions.

Anyone care to share some words of wisdom.

Thanks

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: I just started with an Architectural firm as their new BIM Coordinator

Congrats on the new role!

I say, stay connected with the industry.
    The Revit forums have topics galore that can help when you run into issues, and seeing new threads pop up can make you aware of problems that might arise so you're prepared when they do.
    http://forums.augi.com/forumdisplay.php?93-Revit
    And of course, the AUGIWorld articles in the library:
    https://www.augi.com/articles
    There are about 250 articles mentioning Revit so far, 22 of them from this year.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

Archibus, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, Tandem, and Planon, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost