Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Regapp and Anno Scales

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to CadDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    So Ca
    Posts
    431
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Regapp and Anno Scales

    Hi everyone,

    I just wanted to touch on these two utility to see if anyone have any new information.

    I have been finding more problems this past year with users not know anything about this.

    What if anything are you doing to control and/or maintain this problems.

    Thanks and any information will be welcome and helpful.
    Jesse
    aka CadDog © 1994
    All is Well until It Fails
    Remember, that what you teach me here you are also teaching others...

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    9,397
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    Quote Originally Posted by CadDog View Post
    What if anything are you doing to control and/or maintain this problems.
    Utilities that run at drawing load that auto-purge this bloat. For the Anno-Scales, it deletes everything and restores defaults we specify.
    DGN linetype bloat is also auto-purged, although it's rare to run across this now. Most DWGs out there are clean.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Posts
    2,076
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    REGAPPs get left alone, manually purged from time to time. I've had problems with a few applications that get cranky when their REGAPP isn't present. They're rarely a problem for internally created files.

    Annotation scales are handled automagically and intelligently i.e. each drawing has an idea of what should be there, and it will check any inherited from XREFs for the same name and values.
    If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
    Some say beauty is in the eye of the Beholder... perhaps so, but I've only seen the disintegration beam.
    Everyone else being wrong is not the same thing as being right.

  4. #4
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,244
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    I use my AutoPurgeReg utility (free at Exchange, link in my signature) to handle all unused RegApps at drawing Open and Save automagically, and Autodesk's 'Cleanup Scales' utility to batch process folder(s) of drawing's Annotation Scales at once... Just be sure to set the 'scale list threshold' to 0 (zero), so you don't end up with duplicate Annotation Scales with same name.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 32GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to CadDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    So Ca
    Posts
    431
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    I use my AutoPurgeReg utility (free at Exchange, link in my signature) to handle all unused RegApps at drawing Open and Save automagically, and Autodesk's 'Cleanup Scales' utility to batch process folder(s) of drawing's Annotation Scales at once... Just be sure to set the 'scale list threshold' to 0 (zero), so you don't end up with duplicate Annotation Scales with same name.
    Thanks BlackBox but before I install this utility I need ask.

    Has anyone else install this and if so how is it working for you?

    Sorry BlackBox I just want to make sure this utility has a little history of working before I install it.
    A few of our offices I recently have been helping have many problems with file size issues so I really need to take a second look at any I proposed to use as a fix.
    I my local office problems are small since most here use regapp and anno scale cleanup utility.
    I love that once install I won't need to worry about this issue so much...
    Jesse
    aka CadDog © 1994
    All is Well until It Fails
    Remember, that what you teach me here you are also teaching others...

  6. #6
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,244
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    Quote Originally Posted by CadDog View Post
    Thanks BlackBox but before I install this utility I need ask.

    Has anyone else install this and if so how is it working for you?

    Sorry BlackBox I just want to make sure this utility has a little history of working before I install it.
    A few of our offices I recently have been helping have many problems with file size issues so I really need to take a second look at any I proposed to use as a fix.
    I my local office problems are small since most here use regapp and anno scale cleanup utility.
    I love that once install I won't need to worry about this issue so much...
    No worries; questions are always welcomed.

    If you're referring to my app; that's been published in Autodesk's Exchange Apps store since September 2013 (2014 version), it's got a 5-star rating (although getting positive feedback is very difficult), it's been downloaded +1300 times, used in +/- 70 Countries, and I've been using it for my own daily plans production since 2011 version. If you're apprehensive (that's fine), perhaps try it out on a single workstation that you've already backed up, before utilizing on multiple. Good news, it comes with a money back guarantee! Haha Besides, you can always email if you've found an issue.

    If you're referring to Autodesk's Cleanup Scales app; it's fantastic too. The only real issue I have with it, is that it's a standalone app you've got to download from their KB page, and isn't either included with the official ACAD/C3D product installer, nor from your Autodesk Account. I use this LISP to make it available to users without having to navigate to the app's install folder to launch manually:

    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...r-AutoCAD.html

    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...2-AE-2018.html

    Code:
    (defun c:CleanupScales (/ file)
      (if (setq file (findfile "CleanupScales.exe"))
        (startapp "explorer" file)
        (prompt "\n** File \"CleanupScales.exe\" not found ** ")
      )
      (princ)
    )

    HTH
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 32GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to CadDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    So Ca
    Posts
    431
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    Thanks BlackBox,

    I was worry you would take it the wrong way so thanks for the stats...

    Ya, I was planning on install the AutoPurgeReg just on my station to see how it works and
    also be able to answer any questions users have later.

    Scale list cleanup is less of an issue now but files coming from subs normally are cleaned up.
    I have a question on you lisp. How does CleanupScales.exe works if not on your local station?
    I did tried in the past to create a server load but it didn't work because it was looking for a .dll , if I remember right.

    Using this lisp would also help me make it easier for the users to clean up their scales and those on subs files.

    Lastly, Thanks again for understanding where I'm coming from, in wanting to make sure about the programs I tell ours users in my company about.
    Jesse
    aka CadDog © 1994
    All is Well until It Fails
    Remember, that what you teach me here you are also teaching others...

  8. #8
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,244
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    Quote Originally Posted by CadDog View Post
    Thanks BlackBox,

    I was worry you would take it the wrong way so thanks for the stats...

    Ya, I was planning on install the AutoPurgeReg just on my station to see how it works and
    also be able to answer any questions users have later.

    Scale list cleanup is less of an issue now but files coming from subs normally are cleaned up.
    I have a question on you lisp. How does CleanupScales.exe works if not on your local station?
    I did tried in the past to create a server load but it didn't work because it was looking for a .dll , if I remember right.

    Using this lisp would also help me make it easier for the users to clean up their scales and those on subs files.

    Lastly, Thanks again for understanding where I'm coming from, in wanting to make sure about the programs I tell ours users in my company about.
    You're welcome; as explained in my email, I get it.

    I encourage everyone to take what they like from what I offer. Nothing more.

    As for CleanupScales.exe, step #3 of the ReadMe file explicitly states that the application EXE & resource DLL be placed in "the installation directory of your AutoCAD-based product."

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 32GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to CadDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    So Ca
    Posts
    431
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    BlockBox.

    I sometimes read to fast so I totally misunderstood this "I use this LISP to make it available to users without having to navigate to the app's install folder to launch manually:"

    I thought you had a way to eliminating the users need to install locally by being able to run this app from the local server...

    This lisp is nice but I have them place a shortcut for both apps on their Taskbar.

    Thanks BlackBox...

    By next week I hope to be able to tell them to remove the BROOM from the Taskbar...
    Last edited by CadDog; 2018-01-18 at 04:26 PM. Reason: second thought
    Jesse
    aka CadDog © 1994
    All is Well until It Fails
    Remember, that what you teach me here you are also teaching others...

  10. #10
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,244
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Regapp and Anno Scales

    Cheers dude; glad you got it sorted.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 32GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

Similar Threads

  1. 2016: Graphic Scales Intelligently Linked to View Scales
    By anne735635 in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-10-06, 12:54 AM
  2. 2012: Reset insert points of anno blocks for all scales?
    By Dave F. in forum AutoCAD Annotation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-02-06, 04:07 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-10-07, 01:25 PM
  4. ACA 2009 Display Configs and Anno Scales
    By CAtDiva in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-04, 10:04 PM
  5. Old Anno Scales
    By dzatto in forum ACA/AMEP Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-01-30, 04:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •