See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2018-03
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

    Hi...

    I'm not sure if I can do what I want to achieve. I just started working at an office that mostly works in cad, with some revit. When exporting drawings from Revit to cad, my layers are not the office standard layers. Is there a way to create an autocad layer txt file to copy in all my office standard layers from auto cad? I would like to try to avoid setting up each layer in revit. Has anyone needed to do this before?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    366
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

    I'm not familiar with Revit so I'm not sure if this will be of any use. However, you can get the layer settings from acad to an excel file by opening the layer manager, selecting all the layers, copy them to the clipboard (ctrl+c), open excel and paste (ctrl+v)

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    Chesterfield, MI
    Posts
    402
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

    Under the Modify DWG/DXF Export Setup within Revit, you can change the mapping of the Revit categories to specific AutoCAD Layers. You can modify the settings that exist or you can import from a text file that contains the mapping. The default location of the export layer files is: C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\RVT 201x

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2018-03
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

    Is there a way to create a .txt file from autocad? I would like to import the layer settings that way


    Capture.PNG

  5. #5
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,234
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

    Quote Originally Posted by evelyn View Post
    Is there a way to create a .txt file from autocad? I would like to import the layer settings that way
    MMccall's copy/paste solution can get you there, I would think. Whether you paste directly to notepad or paste to excel and export out to tab delimited txt file, etc.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-02
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Creating a layer txt file from autocad to revit

    Hi. Pardon my hijacking the thread.

    I've been looking at this problem and have been working on an old bundled exportlayers-dwg-BS1192.txt (I am UK-based).

    It's mostly working but for one area. Under the Walls category, there are 4 headings that sort/split the primary Walls Category by Function. They're some of the few formatted with a : (as in '# Do not remove the colon ( after certain category names.' from the commented preface section to the file).

    Is it possible to add Categories for these functions? I think I prefer to do it with this, as opposed to the Function Modifier for the name - not least because the standard .txt format file doesn't seem to allow modifiers to be added.

    Any input gratefully received ...

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: creating revit topo from autoCAD file with elevation data contained in editable attribute
    By nate706679 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-08-11, 05:58 PM
  2. 2014: Revit Export to AutoCAD ~ Creating specific layer linetypes
    By stuthill1106 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-06-30, 03:32 PM
  3. 2013: Dim. vs. Layer when converting Revit file to ACAD file
    By ROBP-RDS in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-10-02, 12:45 PM
  4. 2013 Creating adxf file in AutoCAD Mechanical 2013
    By eugene398701 in forum AutoCAD Mechanical - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-07-10, 05:05 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-24, 05:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •