Thread: Best Practices for a single finish schedule for a project with multiple buildings

Login to Give a bone

Default Best Practices for a single finish schedule for a project with multiple buildings

Hello,

I'm relatively new to revit and trying to find the best way to go about creating a single finish schedule that will work with 6 different models (buildings) that are linked.

Thanks in advance!

JMC

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Best Practices for a single finish schedule for a project with multiple buildings

You can schedule items in linked files (there is a check box for that on the Fields tab of the Schedule Properties dialog). Whether that will work for you will depend upon how you do your finish schedules.

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Best Practices for a single finish schedule for a project with multiple buildings

Thank you David, i guess that is my question, being new to revit...how do i go about setting up this single finish schedule? can you recommend any specific tutorials that will meet my needs given that we know i'll be linking it to 5 other models?

Login to Give a bone

Are you scheduling finishes by room? Or just listing all the finishes used in the schedule, with some sort of keying to indicate which is used where?

If you are scheduling by room, and the room objects hold all the finish data, it should not matter whether everything is in one model or if some rooms are in linked models, provided the toggle to include objects from linked files in the schedule is checked.

Login to Give a bone

Hi David,

We will have both as follows:
    Finish Legend - listing each material with code (ie PT-1) with manufacturer, model #, color/finish etc.
    Room Finish Schedule - listing room by room with columns for Floor finish, base finish, Wall Finish (n,e,s,w) and ceiling finish