See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    581
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    What is the process to transfer blocks from one drawing in to another drawing?

    Is this as frusturating for anyone else or is there some kind of setback bug in DesignCenter now?

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,480
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Drag the blocks to the open dwg.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    581
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Thats not working

  4. #4
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,480
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Is the open/active dwg different than the one you're dragging the blocks from?
    C:> ED WORKING....

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-05
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    231
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    You need to be on the drawing you want to transfer the blocks to. Once in design center (ADC shortcut command) navigate to the drawing you want to take from, select the block category and wait for it to load all the blocks that drawing has.

    As Ed pointed out you can drag and drop if you want, but you can also right click and insert, insert and redefine, or just redefine. If the drawing contains the same block name as the drawing you are taking from it won't use the the other drawing's block, it'll pull from the library currently in the drawing rather than using the other drawing's block definition, which is what the insert and/or redefine function can fix for you.

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    2,992
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_newsome View Post
    Thats not working
    Only thing that should prevent that I can think of is if the the block's name is the same as the drawing you're trying to insert it into. That would create a circular reference.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  7. #7
    Member joshua.jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_newsome View Post
    What is the process to transfer blocks from one drawing in to another drawing?

    Is this as frusturating for anyone else or is there some kind of setback bug in DesignCenter now?
    Use Lee Mac's "Steal" app: http://www.lee-mac.com/steal.html

  8. #8
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2001-02
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Another alternate method if your Design Center is getting buggy, is to create a new Tool Palette, and just drag your block into the new Palette, then it will be available in any other drawing, just click and drag, man, click and drag.
    Doesn't answer why the Design Center isn't working, though... I'd guess along the lines of what earlier replies suggested, that the block already exists in your target drawing?
    Hope this helps

  9. #9
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2018-01
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_newsome View Post
    What is the process to transfer blocks from one drawing in to another drawing?

    Is this as frusturating for anyone else or is there some kind of setback bug in DesignCenter now?
    Select block
    Copybase (CTRL-SHIFT-C)
    Pick base point
    Change to new drawing
    Pasteblock (CTRL-SHIFT-V
    Pick insert point

    Simples

  10. #10
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-09
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Copy Blocks from one DWG to an other DWG

    Quote Originally Posted by leshogg762024 View Post
    Select block
    Copybase (CTRL-SHIFT-C)
    Pick base point
    Change to new drawing
    Pasteblock (CTRL-SHIFT-V
    Pick insert point

    Simples
    Exactly how I do it too.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. copy title blocks
    By MikeJarosz in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2015-12-07, 03:10 AM
  2. Copy attributes from blocks to excel
    By Negi in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-07-26, 01:47 PM
  3. Copy & Paste Dynamic Blocks
    By tiffany.amorgan in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2011-07-06, 04:52 PM
  4. copy and paste blocks
    By eeker in forum AutoCAD Action Recorder
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-06-18, 03:24 PM
  5. Copy dynamic blocks using an alignment grip
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-02-22, 05:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •