Thread: I'm confused about True North and Project North

Login to Give a bone

Default I'm confused about True North and Project North

I'm fairly new to Revit, and I'm trying to set up a project so that it is has the correct orientation. I work with HVAC, so I receive architectural files (ifc and dwg). The team uses an agreed upon project base point outside the building (0,0,0). I am unsure about what to do next. If I link a drawing it appears at a skewed angle where straight up is north. In order to make drafting easier I've tried to rotate the project base point to a more convenient angle (just using the rotate tool). Then I've rotated True North back the same angle so that in the properties dialog True North actually shows the model at the true skewed angle, and Project North shows the model at an drafting-friendly angle.

My first question - is this the right way to go about it?
    Last edited by -Nevian-; 2019-03-06 at 02:03 PM. Reason: Forgotten word

Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: I'm confused about True North and Project North

Sounds fine, as long as using Rotate Project North is before you really get going.

For future reference, Revit's bias is starting with Project North. That means linking the other files and rotating them so they are oriented to whatever project north you think makes it easier to go on paper so to speak. Once those files are in position you can use the Acquire Coordinates tool on the DWG file (usually a survey) to align your model's shared coordinate system and True North with theirs.

This way Project North is assumed at the outset and True North is defined once that is clear what it is.

Login to Give a bone

Thanks for answering