Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Converting feet to inches

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    7
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Red face Converting feet to inches

    Hello,
    I am just beginning to learn to use AutoLisp, and I'm having trouble converting feet to inches. I want the user to be able to enter 20' at the beginning of the lisp routine, but I don't know how to make the 20' a usable real number in the rest of the routine.

    Thanks,
    Lily

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting feet to inches

    I believe you can set "LUNITS" to 4. This would set the linear units to the architectural units, which would allow for input of architectural feet and inches or just inches.
    Code:
    (setvar "LUNITS" 4)
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to scwegner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    449
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting feet to inches

    It depends on what you're using to prompt for user input. Show us what you're trying to do.

  4. #4
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting feet to inches

    (setq inp (getdist))

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting feet to inches

    hmmmm, too bad that you can't have someone type in metric units and cad
    actually draws everything in english units. That would be such a lifesaver for those
    of us who are given metric by our customers but need english to send to suppliers.

    Acad wishlist?????????

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to pnorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Location
    Calgary
    Posts
    203
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Converting feet to inches

    Too bad we don't all work in metric!

Similar Threads

  1. Converting values to feet and inches
    By cadconcepts in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2022-08-03, 08:07 PM
  2. inches instead of feet and inches
    By Wagurto in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-04-11, 06:02 AM
  3. Feet and Decimal Inches
    By cknox in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-07-12, 11:03 PM
  4. Inches versus Feet
    By khamm in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-06-12, 04:49 PM
  5. Feet vs Inches
    By CADMama in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 2006-02-01, 04:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •