Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Masks/Wipeout for Blocks

  1. #1
    Member dmayer74's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    8
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Unhappy Masks/Wipeout for Blocks

    Hi,

    I am having trouble with masking/wipeout for blocks (such as detail bubbles) on plan drawings. I have tried the masking block, but they only seem to work with AEC objects. I also tried to add a wipeout to the block definition when creating the tool through the content wizard, but that crashes AutoCAD when I try to insert it from the Design Center. There has to be an easy way to do this, but I can't figure it out. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Lord&Master of Space&time Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,661
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Masks/Wipeout for Blocks

    Ah, yes. The vaunted masking issues of ADT.

    This is something you'll need to experiment with & see what makes the most sense for what you do. AutoCAD Wipeouts will work for both acad & ADT objects (just use the draworder to bring stuff forward or backwards). Mask blocks are great for ADT only stuff.

    For something like detail bubbles, I would utilize the masking utlility built into MTEXT. For other stuff, don't try to use Wipeouts & Masking Blocks at the same time. I remember using polylines alot for mask blocks. Once I got a mask block I liked I stuck it on a tool palette & used it from there. I don't remember the exact order of how I went about getting it onto the palette, but I think I figured out just by playing around with it until it worked.
    Steve Bennett |CAD Manager
    Moffatt & Nichol | Adventures in BIM

Similar Threads

  1. 2011: Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks
    By Jerry Pascucci in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-01-21, 06:52 PM
  2. 2008: Lighting Masks
    By Chuckyd67 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-10-17, 04:05 PM
  3. Automatic Wipeout for Blocks
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-08-25, 06:38 PM
  4. Civil 3D 2007 - Wipeout does not wipeout Objects in a floating viewport
    By youngrl501483 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2007-03-14, 09:47 PM
  5. Using Wipeout in Dynamic Blocks
    By JamminJim in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-06-12, 01:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •