See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Dimension text height won't change

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Dimension text height won't change

    I have one drawing that is giving me a lot of grief. I can't seem to change the dim text height no matter what I do. This is true for new dimensions and editting existing. The properties in the dialog box change, but the actual size does not. Example, I'll set the dim style text height to 2" then dimension a segment. The text will be 1" but the properties dialog box shows the height as 2". Does not matter what the properties say, the text remains 1". Everything else can change, arrow style and size etc. There is not a problem with regular text, just dim. It is only happening with 1 dwg, could something be locked?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    In the text style dialog, change the height of the style you are using for the dimensions to "0". This will allow the the dimension dialog to change text height.
    Glenn Pope
    Civil Designer/CAD Manager
    River City Engineering
    AutoCAD Civil 3D 2011 Ver. 3
    Windows 7 Pro 64bit
    I explode MTEXT.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    Quote Originally Posted by gpope
    In the text style dialog, change the height of the style you are using for the dimensions to "0". This will allow the the dimension dialog to change text height.

    I already did. No go.
    Thanks anyways

  4. #4
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,516
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    Hi

    Please post the drawing file that is exhibiting the behaviour you describe above.

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    Here's the messed up dwg.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,516
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    Hi

    DimStyle "new" and "Standard" both use Text Style "Standard".

    Go to the Text Style dialog box (command ._Style) -> from the "Style Name" drop-down list pick "Standard" -> now do as Glenn suggested (refer to attached screen capture, shows current settings for Text Style "Standard)).

    Have a good one, Mike
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Posts
    9
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    "Thud, thud, thud" That's the sound of me kicking myself!!!
    Thanks for the help!










    For the engineer the glass is never half full or half empty, it's just twice as big as it needs to be.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-02
    Posts
    5
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    Once I change the style height to 0, all is fine. However, when I close and later re-open a drawing, the style height is back to .125. Why isn't AutoCAD remembering the settings? Thanks

  9. #9
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    (getpoint "Anywhere on the Enter Key =>")
    Posts
    1,155
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    Quote Originally Posted by mike.finch793505 View Post
    Once I change the style height to 0, all is fine. However, when I close and later re-open a drawing, the style height is back to .125. Why isn't AutoCAD remembering the settings? Thanks
    First of all, did you save the drawing before closing it?

    What is the font associated with for the "standard"?
    Is the font missing in your pc?

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time clshade's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-01
    Location
    B5
    Posts
    544
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Dimension text height won't change

    And never keep "Standard" as your Text Style name. Or "Standard" anything for that matter.
    Too many out there doing this and it causes conflicts.
    Charles Shade AutoCAD LT 2014, Dynamic Blocks
    www.cshadedesign.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lock Text Height in Dimension Style when Text Style Height is Not 0
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-01-16, 04:55 AM
  2. Global Text Height Change - With MText & DText
    By omorah in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-04, 05:43 PM
  3. Wanting Height of Text Within a Detail Component to Change With the View...
    By dlancor in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-12, 04:57 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-04-17, 03:08 PM
  5. Cannot change dim text height
    By neilcheshire in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-13, 04:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •