Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

  1. #1
    Mastering Revit Author JamesVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    624
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default

    I've been playing around with customized curtain wall panels and have come to an obstacle. Is it possible to create a parametric array of louvers in a curtain wall panel family? It seems to be limited because you can't tap into the width of the panel in the family editor in order to create an array formula like you can with a shelf and brackets for example.

    The attached family is the culprit, and the screenshot is how the panel behaves when placed into a curtain wall. Thoughts?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    We are the music makers...we are the dreamers of dreams.
    All Things BIM
    Visit the Revit Community Home Page

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Simon.Whitbread's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    351
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    I'm keen to see any replys to this. Struggled for ages, gave up and put some detail lines on the elevations - the PA was getting p****d that thing were taking so long.

  3. #3
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,153
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    Try creating a louver/array in a family and nest that family in your curtain panel. This THREAD is an example of nested array objects to make stage curtains. Keep the array at two objects in the child family. Expose the array parameter so you can change it in the Parent family. If you need a two direction array, X and Y, then array horizontally then array that vertically, again keeping it simple (2 each direction).

    Make sense? I'll take a look at your example when I get a chance.

  4. #4
    Mastering Revit Author JamesVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    624
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    Steve,

    The fundamental problem is that you can't use the width or the height of the panel to feed the array parameter formula. It's obviously an instance parameter because the H+W of a panel is controlled by curtain grids in the project model. It's just not exposed in the family editor.

    Phil Read, where are you?!!
    We are the music makers...we are the dreamers of dreams.
    All Things BIM
    Visit the Revit Community Home Page

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict andrewg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Waterville, Maine
    Posts
    1,748
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    Not certain if it will work, but if you set up the arrayed louver as a nested family as steve suggested. Make the # of arrayed elements a function of the width of array, i.e. count=width/4".

    Then load the nested array into your curtain panel, & align/lock the nested array's edges to the left, right, top, & bottom reference planes in the curtain panel.

    Then try flexing it.

  6. #6
    Mastering Revit Author JamesVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    624
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    Gave your suggestions a try. I took my louver family and loaded it into an 'array' family and it flexes nicely. (See attached)

    However, when I attempt to load this into my curtain panel family I get the error "Can't create type." Do you think I need to make one or more of the parameters in the louver array family an Instance parameter rather than a Type parameter?
    Attached Files Attached Files
    We are the music makers...we are the dreamers of dreams.
    All Things BIM
    Visit the Revit Community Home Page

  7. #7
    AUGI Addict andrewg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Waterville, Maine
    Posts
    1,748
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    I tried it & it does flex properly, but got your same error message.

    I then thought that maybe we have to change the family category to match the curtain wall panel, but they're not listed as they are a system family.

    I got a feeling that's the problem, but I don't know the answer.

    Where are those factory (Revit) guys when we need them??

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    33
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    Has anyone yet found a way around this?

    I'm trying to nest a sunshade family in a curtain wall glazed panel family, so I can turn it on and off by type or instance. But since the glazed panel width is not exposed in the curtain wall glazed panel family, I have to build my sunscreen directly in the glazed panel family which precludes turning it on and off.

  9. #9
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,153
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    Quote Originally Posted by rgesner
    ...I have to build my sunscreen directly in the glazed panel family which precludes turning it on and off...
    You can control the visibility using yes/no parameters. Just the same as if you nested them.

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-03
    Posts
    87
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Lightbulb Re: Parametric louvers in curtain panels?

    I know this is an old thread, but I was hunting around for other ideas and I hit it. I figured I would record a different approach here for posterity. When I had this issue I used a custom mullion profile to create my louver fins. I made a new curtain wall type called "Louvers" which has the fin as the interior mullions and a simple frame for the perimeter and nothing for the panels. I used has type-driven dimensions to keep the spacing of the fins. Once this type is embedded in a larger curtain wall, it automatically gets the spacing, adding and removing mullions (fins) as required. Worked pretty well for us.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Parametric Louvers
    By TerribleTim in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-05-08, 02:32 AM
  2. Create Louvered Doors with Parametric Louvers
    By awilliams in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-11-03, 12:40 PM
  3. Parametric register grilles and louvers
    By rb.72855 in forum AMEP Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-05-14, 01:16 PM
  4. How'd They Do That? - Parametric Louvers
    By bradg in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-01-21, 03:28 PM
  5. Parametric Louvers
    By beegee in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 2006-10-15, 02:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •