Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: command alias

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone

Default command alias

I am trying to write a lisp for construction staking in ldd. Basically what I am doing is having a person pick two endpoints of a line that is xrefed in. With these two points I will use them to draw a terrain 3d polyline then place points along the line and calculate the elevations automatically. However I am very new to lisp and they way i was doing it was storing the input when the select the two lines then entering them in for all the commands. I do not know some of the command aliases for LDD. How do you run a command and set the variables for that command if you do not know the alias?

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: command alias

IMO...

NEVER use an alias.
    Only use the full command name.
    It's a lot safer and less likely to bomb. What if an alias is redirected to a different command?

I know that
    Code:
    (command "line")
    will always start a line whereas
    Code:
    (command "L")
    might do any number of things depending on what you have written in the past.

If you use "line" then you also know that it will work on my system too (as long as I haven't redefined the "line" command.)

The lisp should save you time when you use it. Try to save time in the coding process and it's more likely to be buggy, meaning its only use will be taking up a few Kb on a harddrive.

Login to Give a bone

I agree with Tod, and to add on top of that you can use (command ".line") to ensure you are using the original Autodesk version. Some programmers like to re-define commands, it is a good idea to get in the habit of placing the dot before your commands. Here is a link to give an example.

http://tinyurl.com/439cq

HTH,
    Matt Worland

100 Club
    Login to Give a bone