Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: shadows on elevations

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    92
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default

    I'm sure that this has been asked before, but without rendering, what is the quickest way to put shadows on elevations. I've been told that this is automated in archicad, but you have to manually do it in revit. We have invested in a number of seats of revit, but my directors keeps asking for this functionality. Any ideas would be welcomed.....

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict PeterJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,948
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    There is no shadowcast in Revit unless you use the rendering tools.

    The cheapest option may be to spend £300/$500 on Sketchup and export the model to that!
    Pete

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    92
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    Cheers for that Pete.... I've tried another work around, which I think Beegee posted last year. Rendered out the elevation; overlayed the wire framed elevation over the render & approx. traced the shadows using the region fill tool. You get a reasonable result. I've also emailed Revit support asking isf this could be added to the wishlist. Lets see if they can get it in V7.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,690
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    ...we are putting shadows on elevations as I speak. We do a quick rendering of the shadows. Drop it in photoshop and "magic wand" then out by themselves - color doesn't matter as we just filter out the shadows as an object and then adjust the contrast/color in photoshop.

    From here there are a couple of options. Use Illustrator to combine exported linework and shadows. Or use AutoCAD linework and import a Tiff into AutoCAD.

    Does involve a couple of steps outside of Revit, but so far has proven pretty quick and the images look quite good.

    I tried using Sketchup, but found that it just couldn't keep up on the larger models I wated to export.
    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...
    Aaron Rumple, AIA

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict PeterJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    1,948
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    Can you post an example, please, Aaron
    Pete

  6. #6
    Revit Mararishi aaronrumple's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-02
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    4,690
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    ...sure. I'm out of upload space here, but I've got some posted @ ftp://ftp.kai-ae.com/ARCH/Revit/

    This is for an SD phase of work for 255 units of housing. I'm showing a shadow image we take from Revit to photoshop and then a merged linework/shadow. No retouching or cleanup has been done to the final image. We've have quite a few different building types to do, so we needed something that we could do quickly.
    Don't drink the Kool-Aid...
    Aaron Rumple, AIA

  7. #7
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    Quote Originally Posted by aaronrumple
    From here there are a couple of options. Use Illustrator to combine exported linework and shadows. Or use AutoCAD linework and import a Tiff into AutoCAD.
    .
    So, to clarify Aaron, once you have separated the shadows in PS, you export them as a tiff to Illustrator, where you combine them with an export of the building hidden line elevation out of Revit ?

    Sounds like a bit of work.

    I'm looking into SketchUp to do this as well as give the hand-drawn quality to sketches.
    Have you nay details on the max size of the Revit file before SkechUp chokes ?
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  8. #8
    100 Club Vincent Valentijn's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    188
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    Quote Originally Posted by beegee
    Have you nay details on the max size of the Revit file before SkechUp chokes ?
    I've put some big files into Sketchup, I'd estimate that for my configuration (P4 2Ghz/512Mb/GeForceMX300) the maximum workable filesize of a 3D dxf is about 25 to 30Mb's.
    On that size it still edits and generates shadows reasonably quick in hidden view... on rendermode it's too sluggish though.

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to robmorfin's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    Solana Beach, CA
    Posts
    200
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    Tracing Region Fills,
    Render-Photoshop-Illustrator-Revit again,
    Render-Photoshop-Tiff-AutoCAD-Revit again,

    Sending from Revit to Archicad seems to be the fastest way to get the shaded Elevations, Do Revit Developers want us to do that, or are we getting that option sometime soon??

  10. #10
    Revit Guru gregcashen's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Emeryville, CA
    Posts
    1,351
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: shadows on elevations

    Do you mean Sketchup? It seems unlikely that there will be specific support for Archicad-Revit file compatibility before there is support for ADT, MAX, VIZ, etc. I would see Sketchup interoperability supported before Archicad...could be wrong though.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Shadows in Elevations or Sections
    By iankids in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2010-10-01, 12:22 PM
  2. Controlling how shadows look beyond on elevations?
    By jon.200969 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2010-08-16, 03:44 PM
  3. Printing elevations w/ shadows
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 2005-12-16, 02:54 PM
  4. Filled region won't print with shadows on in elevations
    By belinda.66428 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2004-12-17, 08:27 PM
  5. Sun Shadows on Elevations
    By aalomes in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2004-10-29, 06:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •