Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Auto Layering

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Auto Layering

    I was wondering if there was a way to assign layers to certain commands i.e. when i draw a dimension, it automatically places the dimension on the layer i specify for dimensions.

  2. #2
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Auto Layering

    Hi

    For starters take a look at the following thread...

    Dimension layer setting

    Have a good one, Mike

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Auto Layering

    Thanks, I also had another question that would probably be more appropriate elsewhere, but here goes. I am new to autocad lisps, i dont know how to write them, or even where to write them to. Is there an easy way to learn the basics about autocad lisps? Any assistance would be appreciated. Thanks again!

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,104
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Auto Layering

    You may try this thread -> Learning Lisp. The links within this thread can help you out.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Auto Layering

    Quote Originally Posted by kahnyad
    I was wondering if there was a way to assign layers to certain commands i.e. when i draw a dimension, it automatically places the dimension on the layer i specify for dimensions.
    Unless you really need a custom solution using lisp, and you are using 2005/2006 - Tool Palettes are good for this.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    Past Vice President / AUGI Volunteer peter's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-09
    Location
    Honolulu HI
    Posts
    1,109
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Auto Layering

    Try this routine.

    Just load it from your acaddoc.lsp

    You will notice that it will switch layers when commands are given.

    I can think of several improvements but this is a stripped down version.

    Peter Jamtgaard
    Attached Files Attached Files

  7. #7
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Auto Layering

    here are 2 lisps that will help with dimensioning on the proper layer. You will need to change where it says "T-DIMS" to the layer you want to use instead. The first one (DH) does a horizontal dimension, and the second one (DVD) does a vertical dimension. You can use the beginning of the lisp and change the end of it if you want.

    Hope this helps!


    Code:
    (DEFUN C:DH()(COMMAND "_LAYER" "S" "T-DIMS" ENTER "DIM" "HOR" "END" PAUSE "END" PAUSE "END"))
    
    
    (DEFUN C:DVD()(COMMAND "_LAYER" "S" "T-DIMS" ENTER "DIM" "VER" "END" PAUSE "END" PAUSE "END"))
    [ Moderator Action = ON ] What are [ CODE ] tags... [ Moderator Action = OFF ]
    Last edited by Opie; 2005-11-08 at 06:13 PM. Reason: [CODE] tags added

Similar Threads

  1. AIA Layering
    By ckenwyn in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-06-17, 09:55 PM
  2. Need layering for NCS
    By eldridge in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-05-06, 03:24 PM
  3. Dimensions Auto-Layering
    By rdaniel in forum ACA General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2007-12-22, 12:31 AM
  4. NCS Layering Template
    By stusic in forum CAD Standards
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-10-23, 04:26 PM
  5. AIA Layering Standards
    By BCrouse in forum ACA General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-12-15, 06:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •