Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: column-beam connection

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    27
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default column-beam connection

    I don't know why I cannot connect the beam at the column. There always comes a gap of some centimeter between them. I Cannot give the beam a lenght equal to the distance between the two columns. Align doesn't works.....
    See figure: floor plan 1 and 3D view
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to Nic M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    480
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: column-beam connection

    Marc,

    You have to edit the structural family.
    extend the extrusion to the ref planes "left" and "right"
    See attach
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-11
    Posts
    27
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: column-beam connection

    Nic,

    It's a family of the Be-localiser.
    The left side of the extrusion [in the floor plan view] is constrained to the ref plane 'member left'.
    When I try to unlock this [in order to lock it to the ref plane 'left'] there appears a warning
    "Can't unlock alignments from Family Template" ....

    Marc

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to Nic M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Antwerp, Belgium
    Posts
    480
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: column-beam connection

    Never noticed that.
    My family was created from a metric familly in Revit 6 or 7.
    I never understood the behavior of structural families. I gues that they have to behave the way that they do for the analasys part of the structure(corners have to join, etc.). They sure don't represent real situations and in my experience are a real pain to use in a building.

    Maybe someone else can explain what's going on.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    100 Club A3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Posts
    126
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Thumbs down Re: column-beam connection

    I gave up... structural elements DO NOT WORK properly in Revit.
    I can't even do the simplest RC structure without running into problems.
    Use generic families instead. Of course, I don't know how they will behave if imported into Revit Structure.

    Hopefully the Factory will fix it soon and there are steps in the right direction, although very small. In version 7, the gap you're talking about was there for RC elements too. In 8, if you join only a beam to one column, the results are right.

    However, problems occur when two beams join a column, when a beam joins automatically a non-bearing wall, etc.

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict patricks's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Memphis TN area
    Posts
    6,873
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: column-beam connection

    I usually have a small gap when beams attach to columns, but I figured that was because in real life there is a gap, and the beam is actually bolted to a plate that is welded to the column.

    What doesn't work correctly, however, is if you need a beam to attach to a column off-center (say for example you want the faces of a beam and column to align). Many times I'll get beams running at angles when one end tried to join and the other end doesn't.
    Intern Architect, BIM Manager/Coordinator
    AERC, PLLC
    Hernando, Mississippi

    Revit - all up in your voxel space

Similar Threads

  1. Column to Beam Connection - Plan & Section Representation
    By G_J in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-02-27, 10:22 PM
  2. Quickest way to unjoin beam and column and attach column bottom of beam.
    By scowsert in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-04-24, 03:54 AM
  3. Column to beam connection
    By Priit.L in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-11-12, 01:41 PM
  4. beam-column connection problem
    By agolbasi in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 04:02 PM
  5. Beam & Column connection
    By tonyisenhoff in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2004-07-01, 09:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •