See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: railings & stairs

Login to Give a bone

Default railings & stairs

hi guys! im new to revit so please be patient with me.

I have some qns. Im doing this as a school project. Currently doing my diploma. My attached staircase is below

1) how do I attach railings on stringers? I tried to host my railing on the stairs..but each time i finished..it remain horizontal on the floor levels. This only happens when i have stringers.

2) I tried many times to attach a continuous railing around my center spine wall but i couldnt. And i cant find a nice continuos railing in the family explorer here. How do i create a clean continous railing along the spine wall (tt means...the railing has no posts but is however attached to the wall)?

3) I have been trying to learn to create my own family...& it looks like im failing everytime. I need some nice railings for the outer edge of the stairs & also a continous railing on the inner side (attached to the wall)? does anyone have some to share?

4) Im trying to do some detailing and i was wondering if there is ANY way that I can turn my model elevation or sections i generated, into the Drafting view (editable in 2D)? I tried one method...it was to export to Autocad, & then import tt Autocad file back into Revit's drafting view...but it turned out way too messy. The reason why I ask this, is because I'd like to edit my modelled Staircase 3d view showing some 3d details (hence i need to convert it to drafting view) etc. The other qn is... is it also possible to create a callout from a drafting view?..its possible in modelled sections, elevations n plans..but is it possible in drafting view?

THNX IN ADVANCE!!

I'll attach what my escape stair looks like so u guys will have an idea.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: railings & stairs

Make sure the railing's host is the stair (edit the railing and select 'Set Host').