Thread: Beginner Question - Wall Joins, Wall Ends

Login to Give a bone

Default Beginner Question - Wall Joins, Wall Ends

Hi, I'm new to this Forum. My name is Joe and I work in Manhattan. (I'm also a novice revit user) I have a few basic question in regards to wall joins which I would really appreciate any suggestions.

Is there a way to control the end conditions of a wall, without it meeting another wall. Can you define an angle or reference plane that it aligns to? We have a building where none of our wall joins are 90 degrees.

These conditions create complications between windows and walls in two places so far.

1.) I'm not sure how to resolve the curtain wall/generic 12 inch wall corner condition. See image 3.

2.) "" the ribbon window 12 inch generic wall condition. See images 2.

In addition, is there a way to control wall ends? We have an iffy condition where we have a cantilever with a curved wall bellow it.

How would you recommend modeling these conditions? Should my Ribbon windows be curtain walls with mullions or standard window frames? How do I get my ribbon window to effectively turn the corner?

Thanks in advance,

-Joe
    Attached Images Attached Images
    • File Type: jpg 1.jpg (88.5 KB, 47 views)
    • File Type: jpg 2.jpg (75.5 KB, 42 views)
    • File Type: jpg 3.jpg (70.5 KB, 30 views)
    • File Type: jpg 4.jpg (51.1 KB, 39 views)
    • File Type: jpg 5.jpg (438.9 KB, 37 views)
    • File Type: jpg 6.jpg (67.2 KB, 19 views)

I could stop if I wanted to mibzim's Avatar
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Beginner Question - Wall Joins, Wall Ends

Taken a while for ppl to respond to this one, but i think its because we either not sure what you are after or revit can't do it. There isn't a lot of control over wall joins apart from the wall join tool and dis-allowing joints. Maybe post an image of what you are after?

Login to Give a bone

Joe,

First, welcome to Revit, and may you never have to look back!