Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Area Schedule Filter and Wild Cards

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time phyllisr's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    634
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Area Schedule Filter and Wild Cards

    Using Names for early schematic (all have STAIR, ELEV, PARKING, LOBBY and COMMON - others "pick and choose" from RETAIL, RESIDENTIAL, OFFICE and more). Is there a wild card syntax so I can use the Not Equal option to generate a schedule that excludes STAIR, ELEV, PARKING, LOBBY and COMMON? Guess I could use Does Not Contain and type everything or create a new parameter but I thought there might be a command or syntax allowing me to pick a bunch of names.

    Thanks,
    PBR

  2. #2
    Moderator JamesVan's Avatar
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    624
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Area Schedule Filter and Wild Cards

    For a general group of excludable areas, I'll usually just create a Project Parameter such as "Area Counts" - could just be a text parameter, so it's easier to manage. Then in the area schedule, assign the areas you'd like to exclude an "Area Counts" value of "No" then exclude that in the filter of the Area Schedule.
    We are the music makers...we are the dreamers of dreams.
    All Things BIM
    Visit the Revit Community Home Page

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time phyllisr's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    634
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Area Schedule Filter and Wild Cards

    Quote Originally Posted by JamesVan
    Then in the area schedule, assign the areas you'd like to exclude an "Area Counts" value of "No" then exclude that in the filter of the Area Schedule.
    This got me started - just tried this and it works. For my purpose (this is seriously early almost pre-Schematic), I just made a parameter as a Yes/No type instead of Text. Just named the parameter Include. Gets me a summary SF total only of areas the owner cares about when he presents to anchor tenants, the finance guys, etc. For a 500,000 SF building, big-picture "close enough" is all I need.

    Thanks very much.
    PBR

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-08
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Area Schedule Filter and Wild Cards

    An "or" setting in schedules would be nice too. I can't have both DCP pumps and DBP pumps show on the same schedule because there isn't a way to filter by "or". Or have a wildcard letter such as using "D?P" to include all pumps that are DXP regardless of what the second letter is.

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Using wild cards in both find and replace.
    By CadCraig in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-03-28, 02:15 PM
  2. Using WIld Cards In The File Dialog Box
    By chris.grochowski in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-03-20, 02:36 PM
  3. Accept Wild Cards in all Interfaces
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-06-23, 01:00 PM
  4. Searching layers with wild cards
    By joel.shelstrom in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-05-17, 06:06 PM
  5. Use of wild cards in standards checker
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-12-28, 10:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •