Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

  1. #1
    Dynamic Blockhead Mod Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Let me break it down for you ....

    I have a co-worker who wants to insert a Word Document into his CAD drawing. So he goes into:

    Insert --> OLE Object

    and brings in the Document. The only problem is that, it only brings in the 1st page, when in reality, it is a 4 page document.

    I tried using a simple copy paste, but the document loses its formatting (which includes bulleted points and tables and charts) when brought in to the CAD WYSIWYG Editor. I tried using image manager, but it didn't work (duh).

    Is there a way to insert or show more than one page using OLE Insert?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  2. #2
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,510
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    <SNIP>

    Is there a way to insert or show more than one page using OLE Insert?
    Hi

    As far as I know ( which means nothing ), "no" not with vanilla AutoCAD.

    Either...

    * Live with the limitation of one page per OLE Object.

    * Import via MText and live with loosing some formatting.

    * Invest in a suitable Third Party solution eg Word2CAD.

    etc.

    Have a good one, Mike

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,023
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by max.sabre
    I have a co-worker who wants to insert a Word Document into his CAD drawing. So he goes into:
    I'll just give props to Word2CAD from [ http://www.dotsoft.com/word2cad.htm ] (you might also look at DOC2DWG [ http://www.dotsoft.com/doc2dwg.htm ]

    It will do what you want and if you spend more than 30 minutes looking for an alternative, you could have already bought a license of it

    Have a good one.....

  4. #4
    Dynamic Blockhead Mod Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Thanks for the response, guys.


    I actually found a way to insert multiple page Word documents into a dwg using vanilla CAD. This especially works if it's MS Word. Personally, I used Option #3, but the other 2 options were found in this forum as well.

    1) Copy text from source document and Paste into CAD using either the basic "Paste" command or the enhanced "Paste Special" command. Objets may or may not retain formatting and will NOT be linked to source object.
    2) Create MText object and right click inside. Select "Import Text" from Pulldown and select file. File has to be saved as either .txt or .rtf (rich text file - preferred). Objects pasted in this manner will more than likely retain formatting but will NOT be linked to source object, so any editing will have to be done in two places (source object AND .dwg)

    3) Insert as OLE Object. If this is more than one page, go into source document and modify page size to be something like 22" X 22" (or larger). This way, the whole document will be pasted, it will retain formatting AND will be linked to source object.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Posts
    39
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    I like your solution to embedding a Word document of multiple pages into Atuocad. I have a 2 page wordfile that I made into a wide page - essentially a tabloi sheet with two columns - but on embedding it as an OLE object Autocad is cropping the object. How do I get around this?

    I have looked everywhere for a solution. Any advice is appreciated.

    thanks

  6. #6
    Dynamic Blockhead Mod Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by gabriel_friedman
    I like your solution to embedding a Word document of multiple pages into Atuocad. I have a 2 page wordfile that I made into a wide page - essentially a tabloi sheet with two columns - but on embedding it as an OLE object Autocad is cropping the object. How do I get around this?

    I have looked everywhere for a solution. Any advice is appreciated.

    thanks
    I think tabloid size is too small. I thin you have to make it larger. Go into your page set up and make it a custom sized sheet with a 22" x 22" size. Then when you insert into AutoCAD, that should be enough to get the whole thing to show.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-02
    Posts
    39
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    I will try it...but why 22" x 22"?

    i only have two 8.5" x 11". Why have you chosen this number?

  8. #8
    Dynamic Blockhead Mod Rico's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    In the hospital cuz of my fever for more cowbell
    Posts
    1,828
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by gabriel_friedman
    I will try it...but why 22" x 22"?

    i only have two 8.5" x 11". Why have you chosen this number?
    I think it has to do with the size of the OLE that is pasted into CAD. I think you can only insert one page per OLE object .... I've found that the big problem with pasting as OLE objects is that they often get cut off if it's more than one page. So I think by making it as big a page as possible there's no question that it'll be in there .... because everything will fall within the "one page" border ...

    I mean, the OTHER option is that you can save the second page of the word document as a separate file and insert it as an OLE object as well. Then this way, both pages will definitely show up.

    I don't know why it gets cut off and I have not found a way to change the way an OLE object figures out its size - one page per OLE object ..... maybe one of the other, more OLE savvy peeps in here can provide their 2 cents ...
    Last edited by Rico; 2006-11-03 at 09:47 PM.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Return of the Cowbell

  9. #9
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,357
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    OLE objects used to be limited (by Windows) to 64 Kbytes. I know that figure is no longer true but there may still be a limit of some size.
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,023
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Inserting multiple Word Pages into CAD

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok
    OLE objects used to be limited (by Windows) to 64 Kbytes. I know that figure is no longer true but there may still be a limit of some size.
    Some OLE problems revealed here:
    http://www.dotsoft.com/xl2cad.htm

    See also:
    http://support.autodesk.com/getdoc.asp?ID=TS76460

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Inserting a multiple page Microsoft Word document
    By eric.stevens in forum ACA General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2011-10-04, 04:44 PM
  2. inserting specifications - word to acad
    By matthew.g in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-02-13, 07:46 PM
  3. Publish multiple pages
    By Fredrik H in forum ACA General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2008-10-14, 09:35 PM
  4. Plotting multiple pages
    By jasontirone in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-08-02, 09:08 PM
  5. cannot plot multiple pages at once
    By ChuckB 013 in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-06-01, 05:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •