Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Autoload Lisp routines together

  1. #1
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Autoload Lisp routines together

    Is there a way to load all lisp routines together or not at all.

    I want to set up our routines so that they are on autoload in our engineering.lsp which is loaded from the acaddoc.lsp file, I dont want users to be able to load the files individually.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,106
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    Huh? I don't quite follow. You don't want your users loading the engineering.lsp file without the acaddoc.lsp file? Is this correct?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict .T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,473
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    Hi Christopher,

    Have you looked into Projects in VLIDE and creating (making) FAS files? Just an idea. Someone else may have a better one.

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill
    Is there a way to load all lisp routines together or not at all.

    I want to set up our routines so that they are on autoload in our engineering.lsp which is loaded from the acaddoc.lsp file, I dont want users to be able to load the files individually.

    Any suggestions?
    So engineering.lsp is loaded by acaddoc.lsp?

    ...and you don't want your users loading them manually? Why not, what difference does it make as long as it's the same engineering.lsp? Are users loading different versions of the same named function? Just curious...
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    acaddoc loads engineering,

    engineering is full of autoloads for other lisp routines that we use. for example plot.lsp

    this plot.lsp is setup to run spell check first before plotting. there are also variables that are set in the engineering.lsp file, it kind of takes the place of acad.lsp

    I dont want the users loading the individual lisp routines manually, I would like them to only be available through the autoload listed in engineering.lsp

    I have looked into making a VLX, but it seems to fully load the routines, and I would prefer them to be loaded on an as needed basis.

  6. #6
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill
    I dont want the users loading the individual lisp routines manually, I would like them to only be available through the autoload listed in engineering.lsp
    So engineering.lsp loads other lisp files, the code isn't in engineering.lsp? I guess I still don't see what difference it makes whether a particular lisp file/function is loaded from engineering.lsp or by the user. If the function definition is the same, what are you trying to avoid?

    I don't see any way to do what you want. Any file that engineering.lsp loads, the user can just as easily load - as long as they know the location of the file(s).

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill
    I have looked into making a VLX, but it seems to fully load the routines, and I would prefer them to be loaded on an as needed basis.
    A VLX is just a compiled lisp, the only purpose that would serve is keeping the users from being able to read the code. FAS would serve the same purpose.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    I didn't think that there was a way, my main thought was that it would force users to stop using startup suite and force them to begin using the network location for routines. All that needs to be done is add a path at the top of the support file search path, and all the routines will load as needed automatically. Thanks any way, it always helps to bounce ideas off someone, even if the idea goes splat.

  8. #8
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill
    my main thought was that it would force users to stop using startup suite and force them to begin using the network location for routines.
    In that case, create a VBS file that will delete registry entries in the following location:

    Code:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Autodesk\AutoCAD\Rxx.x\ACAD-xxxx:xxx\Profiles\<yourprofilename>\Dialogs\Appload\Startup
    ...and add it to their Windows logon script.

    (Items in red will vary depending on your product, profile, etc)


    Although... this goes against my favorite CAD Management rule of all time from Mark Kiker:

    "Don't let a management problem become a technology problem"
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    does that disable the startup suite?

  10. #10
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,805
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Autoload Lisp routines together

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill
    does that disable the startup suite?
    That is where startup suite entries are stored.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. 2012: AutoCAD 2012 - How to Autoload .lisp files
    By rbhazie in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-04-15, 01:09 PM
  2. 2013: Problem loading MNL for autoload LISP
    By martin.aitken in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2013-12-09, 07:00 PM
  3. how do you call other lisp routines with lisp?
    By moises.y969653 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-02-06, 01:01 PM
  4. Autoload LISP by entering functionname
    By Simon.Weel in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2010-09-23, 08:52 AM
  5. Lisp Routines
    By Shadrak in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-10-08, 01:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •