See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: Filtering with Subcategories

Login to Give a bone

Default Filtering with Subcategories

Hello,

I'm a structural engineer who is transitioning to REVIT. I have a project model started, and wish to filter the views for ease of working with the moderate sized model. For example, I wish to have only the lateral load resisting system (braced frames, shearwalls, etc.) in view, but not the gravity framing. From what little I've seen of REVIT, it seems creating subcategories, and filtering the view properties is the best way to do. (If there's a better way for filtering "layers" in REVIT please let me know)

I've created the sub-categories without a problem. However, I'm having difficulties assigning these sub-categories to the actual members in the model. The Help file says to go to the properties dialog box and, "In the Instance box of the dialog box, click the Subcategory value box and select the subcategory name you just created from the drop-down menu". However, when I open the properties dialog box, there is no "Subcategory" box.

Any suggestions/solutions?

I'd appreciate any direction you can provide. Thanks,

Erik

EDIT: I've found a tutorial related to this problem. However, it presents other questions. The tutorial covers assigning sub-categories within the family editor and applying them to the overall family element. However, I do not wish to apply a "Gravity Framing" sub-category to EVERY wide-flange beam. Simply a few instances of them. I've been unable up to this point to find a place where I can assign my global sub-categories (made within the main model) to specific instances. Can anyone assist me with this?
    Last edited by ekneer; 2006-04-11 at 05:39 PM.

Revit Moderator
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Filtering with Subcategories

Erik, per the autodesk press releases/brochures there are major filter enhancements if you can wait for the release of RST3.