See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

    I'm a cad student and cannot figure out how to dimension Isometric drawings properly. I do not know how to format measurements on the same planes as the drawing and am getting some incorrect measurements as well as having to correct the angle the leader lines are on. Does CAD allow measurement on Isometric planes and if so how do I format them or turn them on.

    Thanks,
    Mary

  2. #2
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,499
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question Re: How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

    Hi

    Does this help...

    ID: TS46712 - Applying an oblique dimension in an isometric view

    Have a good one, Mike
    Last edited by Mike.Perry; 2007-05-07 at 02:32 PM. Reason: Correct link.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

    editing the dimension lines after the fact is pretty much what I have been doing. I was hoping for a setting or format the Cad would know that I am already in Isometric planes and dimension accordingly...

    I really appreciate your in put none the less..
    Thanks,
    Mary

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,260
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

    Quote Originally Posted by mjpestalitz
    editing the dimension lines after the fact is pretty much what I have been doing. I was hoping for a setting or format the Cad would know that I am already in Isometric planes and dimension accordingly...

    I really appreciate your in put none the less..
    Thanks,
    Mary
    If you want to do it the old way, use the Styles and Dimstyles in the attached drawing.
    The method illustrated in Mike's link is easier though.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-05
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

    I open drawing iso.dim.dwg, what is TROTATE
    I do not see any setting in auotcad for this

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-06
    Posts
    8
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How-to Dimension Isometric drawings

    Hi Kenneth,

    The TROTATE is a sub command in the command DIM. So to set TROTATE first you type in command DIM and at DIM: prompt enter TROTATE then it will ask you the angle. I don't know wher it is in the Dialogue Diplays as I am an old CAD user I use commands.

Similar Threads

  1. Isometric Dimension.....
    By somared in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 57
    Last Post: 2014-01-13, 04:51 AM
  2. Best way to do isometric drawings?
    By RyanSS in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-08-05, 11:24 AM
  3. Dimensioning isometric drawings in AutoCAD 2007
    By r.burks in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-05-07, 07:57 PM
  4. Make Isometric Drawings from the Piping Module
    By Inventor Wishes in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-08-15, 03:00 AM
  5. Isometric Dimension
    By Merlin in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-11-30, 11:14 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •