See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Convert to bitonal image

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to LanceMcHatton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    293
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Convert to bitonal image

    Ok, my total time in RD is about 1 hour so far so please excuse what is probably a basic question.

    I'm doing my best to convert raster lines to ACAD lines but it's not working as easily as it did with the sample images. I guess I need to convert my image to a bitonal image but I can't find how to do that. Right now the image has white, black, and red (and probably millions of variations of each since it's a regular scanned image).

    Can someone point me in the right direction or tell me if I'm even on the right path?

    Thanks
    Lance McHatton

    AutoCAD 2014
    Windows 7
    I swear, I did not dado that rabbet.

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,993
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Image | Image Processing | Change Color Depth

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to LanceMcHatton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-04
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV, USA
    Posts
    293
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    Image | Image Processing | Change Color Depth
    Thanks, McSwain!

    Ok, that changed it to just black and white, no in-betweens. But I lost the red and that's the one I needed. I understand there's a way to work with the image to "extract" just one color out of it. Where would that be?
    Lance McHatton

    AutoCAD 2014
    Windows 7
    I swear, I did not dado that rabbet.

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict Railrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    1,181
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Quote Originally Posted by LanceMcHatton
    Thanks, McSwain!

    Ok, that changed it to just black and white, no in-betweens. But I lost the red and that's the one I needed. I understand there's a way to work with the image to "extract" just one color out of it. Where would that be?
    The only thing I can think of would be to make 2 copies of the image with different names. Change one to a bitonal image & put it over the colored image. The bitonal image will be transparent & let you see the colored imge. That will give you the bitonal to snap to & the colored one to use as a guide.
    Give people a job worth doing, the tools to do it, recognition of a job well done & get out of the way.

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,993
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Quote Originally Posted by LanceMcHatton
    Thanks, McSwain!

    Ok, that changed it to just black and white, no in-betweens. But I lost the red and that's the one I needed. I understand there's a way to work with the image to "extract" just one color out of it. Where would that be?
    A bitonal image contains 2 colors, black and white. Assuming your background color is black, you will only see the "white" parts of the image. The "white" parts of the image will actually be the color of the layer on which the image resides. Move the image to a red layer, and the visible parts are now red.

  6. #6
    AUGI Addict Railrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    1,181
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    A bitonal image contains 2 colors, black and white. Assuming your background color is black, you will only see the "white" parts of the image. The "white" parts of the image will actually be the color of the layer on which the image resides. Move the image to a red layer, and the visible parts are now red.
    I was under the impression that he has 3 colors: black, white, & red. As in a redlined drawing.
    Give people a job worth doing, the tools to do it, recognition of a job well done & get out of the way.

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    7,993
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Quote Originally Posted by drafter29
    I was under the impression that he has 3 colors: black, white, & red. As in a redlined drawing.
    That may be true, but a bitonal image can only display two colors.

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict Railrose's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Abilene, TX
    Posts
    1,181
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Convert to bitonal image

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    That may be true, but a bitonal image can only display two colors.
    That's the reason to overlay the bitonal version on the color version. It gives you the chance to see the difference between the black & red lines.
    Give people a job worth doing, the tools to do it, recognition of a job well done & get out of the way.

Similar Threads

  1. Raster design bitonal image for contour follower
    By swyman in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-09-01, 03:30 PM
  2. convert to bitonal image
    By rschaff in forum Raster Design - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-08-03, 02:07 PM
  3. What are you guys using to convert a dwg with an image to pdf format.
    By jmeyer.186809 in forum Land Desktop - General
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2009-09-14, 02:03 PM
  4. convert image into dwg
    By vergasov in forum ACA General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-07-20, 10:12 PM
  5. convert image into dwg
    By vergasov in forum Revit - In Practice
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-07-08, 05:04 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •