Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Invisible Dimensions

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time dduarte's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    526
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Invisible Dimensions

    We have a user that wants to lock a wall half way between two points and doesn't want the dimension string to plot. The best I can do is set the two dimensions EQ and make a special dimension type with white lines, no tick marks, and very small text. Can anyone think of a way to make a dimension invisible? Can't add a subcategory to dimensions in Object Sytles either.
    David Duarte
    Appleton & Associates Inc.

    I have heard enough to know that you can never hear enough to know.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time eddy.lermytte's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    554
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Invisible Dimensions

    Duarte
    make the dim string > use EQ or Lock > delete the string > Revit will ask you if you want these elements to remain constrained or not. > choose Ok.
    Last edited by eddy.lermytte; 2006-05-30 at 07:37 PM.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time dduarte's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    526
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Invisible Dimensions

    Thanks Eddy.
    David Duarte
    Appleton & Associates Inc.

    I have heard enough to know that you can never hear enough to know.

  4. #4
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-04
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,154
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Invisible Dimensions

    Tossing in 2 pennies,

    Since these walls will remain constrained invisibly that might come back to bite someone later. For example a tall building where someone locked the distance between floors and then later deleted the string. Now someone else tries to change the floor to floor height and gets error message after error just because the constraint is still there and they didn't notice the telltale green dashed line...yadda yadda...

    If this sort of constraint is really important then consider making a duplicate view called Level 1 - Constraints (or somesuch) Lock and constrain it there...now everyone can see the constraints anytime they want and see why they are there because you can add a note saying so.

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time dduarte's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Greater Los Angeles
    Posts
    526
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Invisible Dimensions

    This is a new user. I think he's starting to realize that constraints in a project file are more trouble than they are worth. Interesting idea about putting contrants in a separate view though.
    David Duarte
    Appleton & Associates Inc.

    I have heard enough to know that you can never hear enough to know.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-11
    Posts
    17
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Invisible Dimensions

    Quote Originally Posted by eddy.lermytte View Post
    Duarte
    make the dim string > use EQ or Lock > delete the string > Revit will ask you if you want these elements to remain constrained or not. > choose Ok.
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_Stafford View Post
    Tossing in 2 pennies,

    Since these walls will remain constrained invisibly that might come back to bite someone later. For example a tall building where someone locked the distance between floors and then later deleted the string. Now someone else tries to change the floor to floor height and gets error message after error just because the constraint is still there and they didn't notice the telltale green dashed line...yadda yadda...

    If this sort of constraint is really important then consider making a duplicate view called Level 1 - Constraints (or somesuch) Lock and constrain it there...now everyone can see the constraints anytime they want and see why they are there because you can add a note saying so.
    Nice tips from both of you. Still gotta side with Steve_Stafford. He has a point there with losing track of previously placed constraints...

Similar Threads

  1. Aligned dimensions acting like linear dimensions (only up-down, left-right on page as viewed)
    By browns.joseph308864 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-12-07, 01:48 AM
  2. Calculate Alternate Dimensions Based on Overridden Dimensions
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-09-18, 02:01 PM
  3. Invisible temporary dimensions when performing a Linear Stretch
    By Gordon.Price in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-05-24, 12:18 PM
  4. Invisible Dimensions
    By jspagac in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-01-05, 03:04 PM
  5. Invisible line shouldn't be invisible
    By WolffG in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-12-19, 01:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •