Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Structural Floor Level vs Finished Floor Level

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Posts
    3
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Structural Floor Level vs Finished Floor Level

    Is the Level in Revit defined as the Finished Floor Level? I would like to define it as Structural Floor Level and when different finishes apply onto it e.g. 50mm tile and screeding or 25mm carpet and underlay etc., the levels remains unchanged.

    At the moment, when new floor type are defined, the structural floor slab shift down but keep the finished floor unchanged.

    Anyone can help?

  2. #2
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,439
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Structural Floor Level vs Finished Floor Level

    currently you must select your floor and move it up the thickness of your finish. This has always been a pet peeve of mine, but I don't think I've ever placed a support or wishlist. I find the same with ceilings too. I want to be able to say the stud framing is 8.0aff not the gyp.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Project Coordinator | Director of Building Information Modeling

    HHCP.com

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict Andre Baros's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Location
    Point of no return
    Posts
    1,604
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Structural Floor Level vs Finished Floor Level

    We use the same convension, Level = Top of Structure, but sometimes add a seperate level for top of finish floor because doors by default insert at the current level and it can get tedious to move them all up by the thickness of your architectural floor. This is an issue for us because most of our architectural toppings are 2-3 inches thick.

  4. #4
    All AUGI, all the time Elrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Hereford, UK
    Posts
    820
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Structural Floor Level vs Finished Floor Level

    If it is critical you could always place 2 floors - a structural slab and a finish material. If you set the structural slab to level and then lock the finish material floor to the structural slab it should work.
    Elrond Burrell, Architect

    [Connect with me on LinkedIn or Twitter]


    "The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now."
    - Chinese Proverb

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-07
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    1,003
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Structural Floor Level vs Finished Floor Level

    To push this one step further... you might try using a Floor and a Roof instead of two Floors.

    I know, it sounds weird but if you consider that Floors grow in thickness from the top-down and Roofs grow from the bottom-up then it starts to make some sense.

    Our floor finishes are typically not thick enough to warrant this approach but I have used it successfully for flat roofs.

Similar Threads

  1. Floor Level tag
    By nnamdiakubuiro in forum Revit Architecture - Families
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-05-23, 01:56 PM
  2. Sloping floor is not on set level
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-26, 03:13 PM
  3. Floor Level Annotation
    By chriscooper in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-09-07, 10:07 AM
  4. Can a floor plan become a level?
    By david.kingham in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2005-07-07, 09:27 PM
  5. Columns insert at a 0 level and not my floor level
    By wingman in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-04-25, 07:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •