Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    153
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

    I want to create a linetype to draw the top part of a tile roof. Basically it's a line about 6 inches long followed by an arch, and then another line 6 inches long.

    Any help is greately appreciated.

  2. #2
    100 Club The VLG's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Location
    on the up....
    Posts
    137
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

    Quote Originally Posted by tyeelaw13
    I want to create a linetype to draw the top part of a tile roof. Basically it's a line about 6 inches long followed by an arch, and then another line 6 inches long.

    Any help is greately appreciated.
    Do you have Express tools? Have you tried using Make Linetype?
    verisimilitude is a life choice...probably...
    Cheese...don't believe the hype.

  3. #3
    100 Club The VLG's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Location
    on the up....
    Posts
    137
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

    Just been having another look at this using the express tools MAKESHAPE & MAKELINETYPE. You need to draw the basic recurring shape then MAKESHAPE on them then use the shape in the MAKELINETYPE command & hey presto that should do it for you.
    verisimilitude is a life choice...probably...
    Cheese...don't believe the hype.

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    153
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

    when i try and use the make line type, it won't let me add the shape to it.

  5. #5
    100 Club The VLG's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Location
    on the up....
    Posts
    137
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

    Quote Originally Posted by tyeelaw13
    when i try and use the make line type, it won't let me add the shape to it.
    I know it took me a few goes to get my head around it, but give it a couple of attempts & I'm sure it will work.
    verisimilitude is a life choice...probably...
    Cheese...don't believe the hype.

  6. #6
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2004-12
    Posts
    153
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Create a custom linetype with an Arc in it

    i gave up. The thing that was getting to me was having to locate the .shx file for other people to use when they were opening my drawing. I just made a dynamic block that had an array function attached to it- it works much better!!!

    Thanks for everyone's help

Similar Threads

  1. Create a custom Sheet Pile LineType
    By Jay Zallan in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2010-06-17, 03:29 PM
  2. Create a custom Linetype - silt fence
    By gcameron in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2007-06-21, 10:40 PM
  3. Create a custom Linetype, guidance needed
    By stevep0962 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-04-25, 06:57 PM
  4. Create a custom Fence linetype
    By Damian_E in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2006-07-12, 08:18 AM
  5. Create a custom bold dot linetype
    By nanoaguilar2000 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-09-28, 06:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •