Thread: Fire alarm system - Creating custom Blocks and extracting data from those blocks.

Login to Give a bone

Post Fire alarm system - Creating custom Blocks and extracting data from those blocks.

I produce shop drawings for installation and approval by the authorities having jurisdiction of mainly commercial fire alarm systems.

I've played with customization as I've watched Autocad evolve over the past decade and I've got a good idea of what autocad could do but I just don't know how to do it. I'm sure somone has done what I want to do so I come to y'all. I hope these aren't complete noob questions.

I pretty good at modifying apps I've found for free on the net (lisp's, etc.) so if any of you Gurus could possibly point me in the right direction to get me started I'll probably live longer.

I really only have two basic needs, counting devices/cables and from that info calculate battery requirements and voltage drop. I know how to extract attributes from blocks and I think that's where I need to start but my first problem is this:

1. How can I extract attributes from blocks across multiple drawings into a table? I put one floor or partial floor per drawing but how can I get all the blocks from the whole job into one count? I can extract the info into a bill of materials for each drawing, which I need anyway, but I also want to have a master BOM on a legend sheet with the totals from all the sheets that will update automatically or on demand as revisions are made. Once I get over that hurdle the rest is downhill...

2. Blocks for multi-part devices. For example, I use a rectangle with "FACP" as my block for a fire alarm control panel, but that panel consists of several parts, CPU, cabinet, batteries, expansion modules, etc. I'd like to have each part as a line item next to the one FACP symbol.