Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

  1. #1
    100 Club sturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Maryland (sigh)
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    greetings!

    I've been having a odd issue regarding shape files. i have a few instillations the give a bad definition when loading linetypes with out custom shapes. it is not constant on what shapes do not load. the shape files a pulled from the network so i know they are good. i have seen one solution is to reload acad. that worked for only one machine. i have removed all i can of AutoCAD, even removed entries from the registry with no luck. the acad instillations are network based, the drawings work fine on other machines. any help is appreciated.

    -Sean
    ACAD 2006 & 2009 LDD & Civil
    Windoz XP PRO(SP2)
    Debian 4.0

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,032
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Does this occur in new, empty drawings?
    If so, are these new, empty drawings started from a template?

    Does this occur in new, empty, no-template drawings?
    Does it only occur in existing drawings?

    For each shape file, try the following lisp statement at the command line

    Code:
    (findfile "myshape.shx")
    (replace "myshape" with the name of your shape file)

    What does that return?

  3. #3
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,511
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Hi

    See if the following helps...

    ID: TS65686 - Errors loading or listing linetypes that contain text: Bad Definition of ...

    Have a good one, Mike

  4. #4
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,032
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Note that this KB article only applies to text based complex linetypes. Sean, if your complex linetypes are using shapes as you mentioned, then this doesn't apply.

  5. #5
    100 Club sturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Maryland (sigh)
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    Does this occur in new, empty drawings?
    If so, are these new, empty drawings started from a template?

    Does this occur in new, empty, no-template drawings?
    Does it only occur in existing drawings?
    yes empty drawings and our templates. the templates are used by all users, also the linetype, shape, fonts etcc... are shared by all. no other user has problems.

    you are correct these are not fonts but symbols for sediment control, forest lines etc.....
    i should also note this is in 2004 MAP and LDD

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    (replace "myshape" with the name of your shape file)
    What does that return?
    Command: (findfile "mra.shx")
    "Q:\\STANDARDS\\MRACADSTD\\Fonts\\mra.shx"

    this is correct file and location. this shx contains several shape def. but even if i load the files manually it failes.
    ACAD 2006 & 2009 LDD & Civil
    Windoz XP PRO(SP2)
    Debian 4.0

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,032
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Sean,

    What I was leading up to, is that it's possible for a drawing to contain the correct shape file name (mra.shx), but this shape file may not contain the shapes required by the linetype def.

    If you run the SHAPE command, then "?", then "*", to list the available shapes, what do you get?

    If this happens in a new, empty, no-template drawing, then I would have to lean towards network problems. Because AutoCAD is simply making an inquiry at the time of loading the linetype as to whether the SHX file is available, and whether it contains a shape with the name specified in the .LIN file.

    I assume that you are sure which LIN file it's reading...? (findfile "myLIN.lin)

  7. #7
    100 Club sturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Maryland (sigh)
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain
    Sean,

    What I was leading up to, is that it's possible for a drawing to contain the correct shape file name (mra.shx), but this shape file may not contain the shapes required by the linetype def.

    If you run the SHAPE command, then "?", then "*", to list the available shapes, what do you get?

    If this happens in a new, empty, no-template drawing, then I would have to lean towards network problems. Because AutoCAD is simply making an inquiry at the time of loading the linetype as to whether the SHX file is available, and whether it contains a shape with the name specified in the .LIN file.

    I assume that you are sure which LIN file it's reading...? (findfile "myLIN.lin)
    when i list the shape they are all there and the def. in the linetype file are correct.
    ACAD 2006 & 2009 LDD & Civil
    Windoz XP PRO(SP2)
    Debian 4.0

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,032
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    All I can tell you then is that is may be a network problem. We have a few users who get prompted for a missing SHX file upon the initial launch of AutoCAD each morning. I have not traced this down, but as in your case, the network path is there, the SHX file is there, and it works from that point on during the day. Why it flakes out first thing in the morning, is anyone's guess.....

  9. #9
    100 Club sturner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-05
    Location
    Maryland (sigh)
    Posts
    149
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    **UPDATE**

    the solution is i had to hard path the location of the shape file in the acad.lin linetype file.
    ACAD 2006 & 2009 LDD & Civil
    Windoz XP PRO(SP2)
    Debian 4.0

  10. #10
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,032
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Bad Shapes - bad definition when loading linetypes

    Quote Originally Posted by sturner
    **UPDATE**

    the solution is i had to hard path the location of the shape file in the acad.lin linetype file.
    Probably not a good idea. Your "J:\cad\support\shapes\mra.shx" (or whatever the path is) will mean little to someone outside of your network who needs to open this drawing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Loading standard linetypes - Bad definition
    By Statler in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-10-24, 08:07 AM
  2. Custom Linetypes not loading - Bad definition at...
    By The VLG in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-07-07, 02:06 PM
  3. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 2006-05-31, 08:26 AM
  4. Linetypes with shapes - Error: bad definition at line...
    By Coolmo in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-01-18, 02:20 PM
  5. Linetypes with shapes
    By stein1977 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-09-07, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •