Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    How do I convert a Solid model from SolidWorks to AutoCad ???

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,068
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    With what software do you have access in order to possibly do this?

    SolidWorks?
    AutoCAD?
    No software, just a file?

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    Land of chocolate
    Posts
    228
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    try out a standard exchange fileformat like sat step or iges

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-09
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    I've created a part in Solid Works (2006) and want to send it into AutoCad 2007 but as a part, not a dwg. I find it easier to design a solid model in SolidWorks but I like the annimations in AutoCad and would like to utilize its advantages.
    When I go to open a file in AC my only options are DXF,DWG,DWS,DWT or if I retrieve the part as a ACIS (SAT) which is what I've saved it in SW I get a error stating unable to read.
    Once again It would be nice to be able to create a solid part and drag it into ACAD

    I really neeed help on this ASAP, so any of u old timers feel the need to help, it would be greatly appreciated. Plz give user freindly details

    THXS

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    8,068
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD


  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2006-01
    Location
    Land of chocolate
    Posts
    228
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    well deeuuuueeehh...

    well as you have doubt 'bout this forum - maybe you'll have more luck on a solidworks forum on how to export a sat file correctly... anyway

    SAT should work, why don't you post the SAT file here for us to test out. A couple of years ago there was a Data translator for autocad / Mechanical desktop. Don't know or such is still available. It was a seperate piece of software (not free) meant to translate design data. You could also contact your dealer, they have the NRF software to check things out.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Posts
    43
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    You cannot do this. I use to work in the Aerospace industry and have posted this question to Autodesk every Autodesk University, I'm sure I'm part of the reason there is no real Q&A during the industry sessions . Anyway the answer is AutoCAD cannot recognize the format or complex models that are built in Solid Edge, FormZ, Pro E, or Solidworks. About the only way to do what you are trying to do is bring it into Inventor and maybe have a chance with it there. However, I have heard, highlight the word heard, that Inventor has no real way to bring the model over to AutoCAD either.

    So your solution is this, AutoCAD is meant for 2D and it is not a real 3D modeling program. Even with the advances of 2007 software it wtill has issues when using a real solid model. They have posted in Augi World several times that if you are doing solid modeling the Mechanical Desktop and AutoCAD are not the programs to use.

    The software mentioned above may work, but I gaurantee you will have a limit to the complexity of the part or assembly. You will also see by reading the information on the software that it is limited to bringing only a solid over and nothing else.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-06
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    It is definitively possible. Some of the answers given here are not satisfactorily and I wish to correct them. However, I am not sure whether you still need help on this matter. Please acknowledge and I will respond accordingly.

  9. #9
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2011-06
    Posts
    1
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    Quote Originally Posted by psranawe778686 View Post
    It is definitively possible. Some of the answers given here are not satisfactorily and I wish to correct them. However, I am not sure whether you still need help on this matter. Please acknowledge and I will respond accordingly.
    I need help with this very issue going from Solidworks to Autocad 2007. I have a 3d Solid part I modeled in SW and now want to send it to a user that only has autocad 2007. How would I save this as a DWG that can be opened in Autocad?

    Thanks a million,
    Jack

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-06
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: How to convert a Solid Model from SolidWorks to AutoCAD

    Sure, this is the way in steps.
    1. Create the part in SW (version I am using is SW2010)
    2. Go to 'Save As' and choose 'ACIS(*.sat)' as the 'Save as type', note the change of the dialog box
    3. Locate and press the button titled 'Options...' at the left bottom corner of the of the 'Save As' dialog box, a new dialog box called 'Export options' will appear
    4. Make sure you have selected 'ACSI' file format, and output as 'solid/surface geometry'.
    Here is the trick...
    5. Under 'Version' select '1.6', the most primitive one and press 'OK'
    6. Now 'Save' file
    7. Run ACAD (version I am using 2008)
    8. Go to 'File' and then 'Import', in the 'Import file' dialog box select 'ACIS(*.sat)' as the 'Files of type'.
    9. Select the saved '.sat' file and 'Open'
    10. Save the ACAD file with '.dwg' extension
    It seems that ACAD doesn't support newer version of the *.sat format, therefore most people find it puzzling why it's not working as it should. Bit of logical thinking, that's all...this is just my experience.
    Enjoy!
    Last edited by rkmcswain; 2011-06-15 at 11:49 AM. Reason: turn off smilies

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Career advice - Autocad vs Solidworks
    By wayneh789 in forum Training
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-07-11, 05:17 PM
  2. AutoCAD 2007 - Convert Polyface Mesh to Solid
    By george.arq in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-12-22, 12:40 AM
  3. SolidWorks vs. AutoCAD?
    By tedg in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2008-01-07, 07:58 PM
  4. Import Solidworks model into AutoCAD
    By Grumpy in forum Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2007-05-09, 06:30 PM
  5. AutoCAD 2007 - Convert Surface to Solid
    By george.arq in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-11-07, 06:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •