Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Hello,

    I am new to the forum & relatively new to AutoCAD. I use a friend's system with 2002 on it.

    I need to know if it is possible to input survey info (bearings & dimensions) into AutoCAD to come up with a property boundary. If so, how do I do it?

    Thanks in advance for your time,

    Lew

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict .chad's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    is it lunch time yet?
    Posts
    1,129
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    from the help file:

    Angle conventions include the position of angle 0 and the direction of measurement: clockwise or counterclockwise. You also set the format and the number of decimal places.

    You can choose from several common conventions to represent angles in a drawing. You can specify that positive values of angles are measured either clockwise or counterclockwise, and angle 0 can be set to any direction (usually East or North). You can enter angles using grads, radians, or surveyor's units or using degrees, minutes, and seconds.

    Work with Surveyor's Angles

    If you use surveyor's angles when specifying polar coordinates, indicate whether the surveyor's angles are in the north, south, east, or west direction. For example, to enter a coordinate relative to the current coordinate for a property line that is 72 feet, 8 inches long with a bearing of 45 degrees north, 20 minutes, 6 seconds east, enter

    @72'8"<n45d20'6"e
    edit: welcome to the forums
    This aggression will not stand. Man.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Chad,

    Many thanks for a timely response!

    Lew

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    7,422
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lew
    Chad,

    Many thanks for a timely response!

    Lew
    If you use the example Chad presented above, you will want to make sure your linear units are set to Architectural or Engineering. The foot and inch notation will error your input if your linear units do not match.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-10
    Posts
    4
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Am I required to use feet & inches? Or can I use decimal feet (823.96') for instance. It does not seem to work that way.

    Lew

  6. #6
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    7,422
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lew
    Am I required to use feet & inches? Or can I use decimal feet (823.96') for instance. It does not seem to work that way.

    Lew
    If you use the foot notation, your linear units must be one of the two that allow that notation. If you are using decimal units, just leave off the foot notation. That's how I work on boundaries.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  7. #7
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Hi,

    How about input in degrees, minutes, seconds, but without direction? I got the bearing for example : 137d58'30" , but when I key in this. it came out N42d01'30"W. Can I annotate it without putting NW or SE?

    Jonathan.
    Last edited by jonathan_ckf319180; 2012-08-31 at 02:04 PM.

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    1,558
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    A bering can't be more than 90°. l don't know how you got N42d01'30"W though. It should have come out N47d58'30"W. For annotation you will need lisp or Civil installed.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2013 on Windows 7 Pro
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516

  9. #9
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    I am drawing an old survey. it is about 30 years ago. so i think they used the old format?! the soft copy is lost. so i am asked to trace it over again.

    but I am new to survey. Can anyone else help me on this? It should be a way to key in the bearing and without N,E,S,W?

    Tom, please see the attachment. hope it helps to explain it.
    1.JPG

  10. #10
    AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    1,558
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Input in degrees, minutes, seconds-how do I?

    Quote Originally Posted by jonathan_ckf319180 View Post
    I am drawing an old survey. it is about 30 years ago. so i think they used the old format?! the soft copy is lost. so i am asked to trace it over again.

    but I am new to survey. Can anyone else help me on this? It should be a way to key in the bearing and without N,E,S,W?

    Tom, please see the attachment. hope it helps to explain it.
    1.JPG
    I'm a professional land surveyor who's worked with drawings and descriptions from the 1800's on for the last 37 years and the format has never changed. Without the N,E,S, & W's they're not berings. Wish I could help, but can't figure out what you're trying to do.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2013 on Windows 7 Pro
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Degrees, Minutes & Seconds
    By cad.33286 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2013-03-02, 02:11 AM
  2. Minutes & seconds in angles
    By al.dietz in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-04-16, 10:54 PM
  3. X annd Y co-ordinates in degrees, minutes & seconds
    By aaron.186517 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-06-18, 03:11 AM
  4. How to enter Degrees Minutes Seconds?
    By Jason in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-12-02, 08:33 PM
  5. Rotate in degress, minutes, seconds
    By Chad Smith in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-06-03, 01:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •