See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Do plan regions work in Linked files

  1. #1
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Do plan regions work in Linked files

    Specificly in the host file, Im trying to place a view region to see something lower(part of a linked model) and it doesn't display.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time robert.manna's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-05
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    777
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Do plan regions work in Linked files

    Are you setting up a plan region in the host file, that you want to affect how you see the linked file? Or is the plan region in the linked file, and its results aren't showing up in the host file view?

    If it is the latter, then I would try the following, set-up a view in the linked model that shows the linked mode the way you want it to, then in the host file view, you can adopt the view settings of the view from the linked file to affect how the linked file is visible in the host file.

    HTH,
    -R

  3. #3
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,250
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Do plan regions work in Linked files

    That's how I've done it.....structural cut planes are not the same as architectural. For instance on level 1, I would be really seeing a foundation cut plane in the structural file, but the architetcural would be at 3'0" above FFL. So I set up special views in the Strcutural file which I would use to set the visibility of the structural model in the architectural file. I haven't tried to see if a plan region is able to modify a linked file. I wonder if it's ignored when you set the link to be "By Linked View". Have you tried changing that?

  4. #4
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Do plan regions work in Linked files

    I'll have to play with it some more. But its not a structural file. I've got a large project where i have truck tunnel that goes from one level down to another and in it is linked into my existing building model and if I set the host views view range bot to unlimited, I see it, if set to assoc. level it gets cut as expected, however when I place a plan region and set it to unlimited, nothing. No change.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  5. #5
    Count (Formula) dbaldacchino's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Location
    Missouri City, Texas (Houston area)
    Posts
    3,250
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Do plan regions work in Linked files

    Interesting.....plan regions have a habit of not behaving like cut planes and depth extents in plan views do. I know I had trouble with reflected ceiling plans, although in that instance it was explained to me that they were not meant to be used in the way I was thinking. If I remember correctly, they're not meant to vary the view depth but the cut plane. I'm not 100% sure if that just applies to RCP's though.

  6. #6
    Early Adopter sbrown's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Coast to Coast
    Posts
    4,440
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Do plan regions work in Linked files

    They definately don't work in 9.0.
    Scott D. Brown, AIA
    Senior Project Manager | Associate

    BECK

  7. #7
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2018-03
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Do plan regions work in Linked files

    Quote Originally Posted by sbrown View Post
    They definately don't work in 9.0.
    If the visibility graphics are linked and the view range under the link is set to linked then plan regions will only affect the modeled items in your host model.

    If you are trying to modify the linked model then you need to change the View Range settings to be by host model and it should behave better with plan regions.

    Excelsior!

Similar Threads

  1. Plan Regions should only work within its area
    By Wish List System in forum Revit MEP - Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-10-25, 08:40 PM
  2. Plan Regions and Masking Regions don't work
    By buhrito in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2012-09-07, 04:00 PM
  3. Do Plan Regions work in RCP
    By mmiles in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-11-05, 03:50 PM
  4. Plan Regions with Linked Files
    By Phil Palmer in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-10-05, 09:50 PM
  5. Plan Regions in Linked Files
    By rakarpassoc in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-04-02, 06:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •