Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: As-built drawings - updating techniques

  1. #11
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,187


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Quote Originally Posted by tburns
    What I mean by "Accuracy is not an issue" relates to your point A. I sent them our drawing. It is accurate to begin with. Since we had another company do the HVAC update (and others), I am assuming that their additions are accurate. I only want to bring them in without losing any updates we've done ourselves. Now for point B, The files they sent back are the same ones they were given, with the addition of anything they changed about them. So if I were to paste their drawing into mine, most of it would overlap. I want to take the part of their file that overlaps exactly, and ignore it. Get rid of it. If I do that manually, it will be time consuming and there is the possibility of leaving or deleting incorrect objects.

    Of course to take into account whether anything has been removed will require me to manually look it over, but to go straight to that step would save hours.

    Slayer913 -
    "Next time, take the other member's advice and assign "control" to the plans, so that changes are incurred by one person at a time."

    This isn't possible for us. I will, however, suggest leaving existing objects on a seperate layer next time I request outside as-built drawings. I believe that's what you meant by-

    Slayer913 - "Or, as I do, put changes on layers and block the outcome so that it's a simple copy/paste to update your masters."

    -but I sure don't want to be the one having to do it! We have a month's worth of budget for this and other projects. I can't spend the whole month picking these files apart.
    Have you thought about overlaying their file over the original file that was sent to them? If sent via email, you may have a copy of it in your Archives or Sent Items folder. You could place the original file in front. Change the colors of the layers in the original file to be subdued. You may be able to see the differences then.

    Just a thought.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  2. #12
    Active Member Cadtharsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Pi World. It's not what I was thinking. :(
    Posts
    90


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Yeah... that works. It's not not as "magical" as what I was looking for though. It's still going to be a pain picking everything out of there. :/ Those drawings are just... massively complex.

    Thanks, though.

  3. #13
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,187


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Quote Originally Posted by tburns
    Yeah... that works. It's not not as "magical" as what I was looking for though. It's still going to be a pain picking everything out of there. :/ Those drawings are just... massively complex.

    Thanks, though.
    Like I said, just a thought. Hope it works for you.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  4. #14
    Active Member Cadtharsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Pi World. It's not what I was thinking. :(
    Posts
    90


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    *Suddenly remembering something*
    Wasn't - er...
    Wasn't there some command that would take duplicate overlapping lines and fix it so there's only one? Was it "overkill"? Would it work? And can it do the same for arcs, circles, blocks, text, etc?

  5. #15
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,569


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    No help for you this time but next time why not ask them to xref your drawing as a base for their drawing instead of adding their stuff to your drawing?
    John B

    "You can't convince a believer of anything; for their belief is not based on evidence, it's based on a deep-seated need to believe." - Carl Sagan

  6. #16
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2003-09
    Posts
    83


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Tburns -

    Overkill command is an express tool, deletes overlaying objects to leave only one. Typically this is used for getting rid of simple lines that may be drawing over eachother.

    http://www.fsalgado.com/2005/06/overkill-command.html

    http://www.findarticles.com/p/articl...21/ai_n6354777

    http://discussion.autodesk.com/threa...hreadID=522180

    http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.c...1206178&page=4

    Looks like you remembered the golden egg on this one! Here are some links for others to dig through. Try it out and let us know what you get. I'm wondering if the command parses into xrefs, blocks, etc, and how you choose which overlapping entity you wish to keep (if multiple layers are in affect).

    Good luck!

  7. #17
    Active Member Cadtharsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-02
    Location
    Pi World. It's not what I was thinking. :(
    Posts
    90


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok
    No help for you this time but next time why not ask them to xref your drawing as a base for their drawing instead of adding their stuff to your drawing?
    *sigh* yeah. I just wish I didn't have to tell these people this kind of thing. They supposedly had a CAD "team" working on this stuff.

  8. #18
    Modérateur Forum Français CGM's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-10
    Location
    France - 68
    Posts
    760


    Thumbs up Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Quote Originally Posted by tburns
    *sigh* yeah. I just wish I didn't have to tell these people this kind of thing. They supposedly had a CAD "team" working on this stuff.
    evenin' Tburns,
    All's well that ends well, right?
    Dessinateur projeteur indépendant
    Architecture Suite 2013, AutoCAD LT 2013

    Typical Padawan.
    Visit the French forum

  9. #19
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-11
    Posts
    1


    Default Re: As-built drawings - updating techniques

    Hey guys,
    I am the Newbie here, With a Load of As-Builts on my plate…Dating back as far as 2000 to current.
    I work for the city of New Orleans and have the wonderful task of;
    Scanning & Converting the Original Dwgs to Tiff, or Image files. (Mostly hand Dwgs & Many in ink on Linen)
    Then while in the middle of that, The As-Builts Needed for Todays’ projects in the city.
    We Can't Blame everything on Hurricane Katrina...


    A Model you say, well, I ain’t there yet…
    A Lot of updated info coming from the old Field Handbooks…
    Like updated in the 40’s & 50’s & 60’s.

    I have made Acad 2015 Raster Design my friend… (Lonely, but dependable)
    And as the discussion was going...
    I Could use All the input available.
    I Just had to Vent a bit...

    Thank you all,


    TGBO


    “Three great forces rule the world: stupidity, fear and greed.”
    Albert Einstein





Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Updating blocks in multiple drawings
    By craymel681947 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2014-10-23, 08:44 PM
  2. 2011: Creating, or Updating 2D Section Views from 3D drawings
    By Drafter1981 in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-02-05, 03:25 AM
  3. Creating, or Updating 2D Sections from 3D Piping Drawings
    By Drafter1981 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-11-21, 09:17 PM
  4. Updating settings on multiple drawings
    By bill.oleson in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-09-26, 08:51 PM
  5. xref drawings not updating
    By msanders.85217 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2005-05-11, 11:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •