Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Autocad running really slow on Network

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    394
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Autocad running really slow on Network

    For the past couple months AutoCad, along with several other applications have been running really slow on our office. I think the out network is having issues casuing the problems, others think AutoCAD is causing the network to be slow.

    Basiclly about 10 users have been using Autocad 2006 for the past 6 to 8 months and everything was runiing smooth. Then 2 months ago, with in a couple of weeks of the rest of the office being upgraded to 2006 things started to get bad. I am of the opinion that this is a pure coincidence. AutoCad is setup with an enterprise CUI. All of the blocks and common content (menus, template, add on lisp) are on a read only sever share while the bulk of the program is installed locally on the users station. AutoCad files are also opened up directly off the server. But in reality they are really copied to a temp location on the users station behind the sences.

    Our biggest problems in AutoCad seem to be the following:
    * takes for ever to insert views via sheet set manager
    * when trying to open, or insert a block via a dialog box , after you hit browse it can take up to a minute (sometimes longer ) for a list of local or network drives to show up
    * AutoCad will periodically hang up in the middle of a simple command for several minutes.

    So, does anyone have any ideas about anything AutoCad could be doing to cuase these issues, or any common network problems that could cuase AutoCAD to have problems.

    Tim

  2. #2
    Active Member rgorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    66
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    Out of the blue, but... has your IT team upgraded anything on the network or your PC's? Check the Firewall software to make sure Acad is one of the allowed entries. Otherwise, every time Acad accesses a file, your firewall will check ALL of the files to protect itself.

    Yes, it's happened here....

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    394
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    Quote Originally Posted by rgorman
    Out of the blue, but... has your IT team upgraded anything on the network or your PC's? Check the Firewall software to make sure Acad is one of the allowed entries. Otherwise, every time Acad accesses a file, your firewall will check ALL of the files to protect itself.

    Yes, it's happened here....
    As far as I know, there were no upgrades of changes to the network of workstation around the time this slow down began. But sinc that time many things have been changed trying to solve the problem.

    One thing that did take place around the start of the slow down, is that our Barracuda email fire wall went down for a period of two weeks with out anyone knowing. Our subcription to Barracuda expired, and the software was not being updated. During those 2 weeks we were hit with alot of spam. All email went down for about a week and our ISP actually shut down our connection temporarily. I have since been informed by our IT people that this could not have caused the network issues. Though I find it a bit too coincidental.

    Also, we just installed a new network fire wall last week, what AutoCAD files should be excluded. Just dwg's, or all common AutoCAD files on the network share?

    Tim

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to jgratton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    397
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    A network server is probably no diferent than local drive. They can get slower when they share their resources with multiple applications. Where are the temp and autosave files going? I have never heard of anyone running AutoCAD successfully from a network. I imagine it can be done provided it is set up optimally and large temp files are not allowed to pile up. Start by looking at the profile settings.

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-12
    Location
    Hartford, CT
    Posts
    394
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    Quote Originally Posted by jgratton
    A network server is probably no diferent than local drive. They can get slower when they share their resources with multiple applications. Where are the temp and autosave files going? I have never heard of anyone running AutoCAD successfully from a network. I imagine it can be done provided it is set up optimally and large temp files are not allowed to pile up. Start by looking at the profile settings.
    All temp files are located on the users computer. The only AutoCAD files on the network are dwgs, and misc comon files that everyone shares (blocks, templates, details, lisp add ons, ect...). The actual program is installed on the users local maching in the default location.

  6. #6
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,507
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    Hi

    Maybe take a look at the links found in the following post...

    RE: Time delay when using certain commands in AutoCAD LT 2006

    Have a good one, Mike

  7. #7
    Active Member rgorman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Posts
    66
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    ooh, I just remembered another little quirk involving slow opening of Acad. It involved UNconnected printers in your system printers list. It was checking the WHOLE network tree for those printers it couldn't find right away. this may happen if they switched from a novell print server based system to a TCP/IP based system. Get rid of all of the old printers using those paths.

    And yes, THAT happened to us as well.

  8. #8
    AUGI Addict .T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Lost
    Posts
    1,473
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    HERE are a few more tips that may help...
    Tim Creary
    S&D
    DILLIGAF

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    13
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    We have had similar problems with 06. I peeved off all the IT guys here blaming the network, the lag only occured when using commands that access the network. We looked at the bad printers and firewall/AV software changes. Nothing seemed out of order.

    Just for giggles we reloaded our original "MapLandDevelopmentDesktop" and "Land Desktop" Profiles, these where custumized for network also, and presto problem solved. We have not actually found the problem, we suspect corrupted CUIs, regardless it is a simple correction for a big headache.

    I am lag free for 2 weeks now.

    GL

  10. #10
    Member shawne.136110's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-03
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autocad running really slow on Network

    Does anyone have a final solution for this? I would dare to say I have the exact same problem with a client here. The big difference is we are still on 2002. Scenario goes something like this:

    He received a new machine, Windows XP w/ACAD 2002

    Worked great for a week or so, then developed an extreme slowness problem when anything revolving around network usage while in AutoCAD.

    I re-installed CAD and also deleted his Windows user profile and created a new one. None of this worked.

    If he works locally, everything appears to be fine. Unfortunately this is not very practical.

    Can a corrupted MNU or MNS file cause this type of problem? I'm lost on a solution for this.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. AutoCAD LT 2007 with SP2 applied, appears to be running slow
    By larry.111254 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-05-09, 10:57 AM
  2. AutoCAD running slow on HP intel core 2 duo E6600
    By kwong in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-04-11, 10:51 PM
  3. AutoCAD 2007 severely slow with network connection
    By mteusink in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-04-10, 04:32 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-02-10, 11:53 PM
  5. AutoCAD LT 2004 and slow network drive access in browser
    By rroggasch in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2004-10-18, 11:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •