See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    AutoCAD 2006

    when using cntrl c then cntrl v, the pasted object is offset badly. Same for all objects-blocks, lines etc. Only in one drawing though....--copy with base point works fine. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    I could stop if I wanted to mom of 3's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    jUSt in the middle
    Posts
    366
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    my guess is the drawings are different coordinates. I always use base point when I do copy-paste. that's my thoughts.........

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time Statler's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    At right angles to reality
    Posts
    537
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    When using ctrl c and then ctrl v my understanding is that ACAD give the items a arbitrary insertion point.

    If you need items in a certain place use ctrl+shift+c to copy with base point or if your drawings share the same co-ordinate system you can use the Edit>>Paste to original co-ordinates command.

    Hope this helps
    Last edited by Statler; 2007-02-14 at 04:51 PM. Reason: I got the shortcut wrong
    Richard
    --------------
    Some Days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Posts
    2
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    does anyone know how to change the "arbitrary insertion point" that AutoCAD assigns to copied objects? What is it based on? Thanks!

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to mom of 3's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    jUSt in the middle
    Posts
    366
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    I don't think you can. like Richard said (better than I did), it's probably because the drawings are different coordinates. if you copy by base point (0,0), then paste to that same point, your items should fall in the correct place that you want them to.

  6. #6
    Administrator Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    13,523
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    Hi

    Maybe look at the _.Base command.

    Have a good one, Mike

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time Statler's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    At right angles to reality
    Posts
    537
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    What will help is if I give the right info.

    Its ctrl+shift+c to copy with a base point
    Richard
    --------------
    Some Days it's not even worth chewing through the restraints.

  8. #8
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-01
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    Quote Originally Posted by jrisk
    does anyone know how to change the "arbitrary insertion point" that AutoCAD assigns to copied objects? What is it based on? Thanks!
    I think the arbitrary point is somewhere near the lower left corner of the selected geometry.

    I have redefined crtl+shift+V to paste to original coordinates, and assigned crtl+shift+B to paste as block. ctrl+C then ctrl+shift+V does it.
    Why draw straws? Just draw one straw and array it.

    Scott Wilcox - Edmonton, Alberta


  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    2,614
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Thumbs up Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    Quote Originally Posted by scott.wilcox
    I think the arbitrary point is somewhere near the lower left corner of the selected geometry.

    I have redefined crtl+shift+V to paste to original coordinates, and assigned crtl+shift+B to paste as block. ctrl+C then ctrl+shift+V does it.
    I use "copy with basepoint" and "paste to original coordinates" all the time. I've created aliases for 'copybase' and 'pasteorg' in my pgp file [see below].

    CB, *COPYBASE

    PO, *PASTEORIG

    I usually use these like:

    "cb" (you pick a basepoint) then "ctr+v" (you pick the insertion point).
    or
    "ctrl+c" (you simply select you objects) then "po" paste to original coordinates.
    It's very important that your ucs is in the same coordinate in both locations or it won't work.

    I always have my "uscicon" "on" just to be sure.

    good luck
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________________________
    AutoCAD 2013 - REVIT Structure 2013 & 2014 - MicroStation V8i - Windows 7 Professional - (dabble with Inventor Professional 2013)

  10. #10
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Posts
    1
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Copy & Paste problem - Pasted objects are offset?

    Had the same issue and it was a USC issue. Did a 3d view top and now works fine...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Copy/Paste Objects to All Layout Tabs
    By acadwishlist in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-11-23, 02:00 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-10-11, 08:38 AM
  3. AutoCAD 2002 unable to Copy and Paste Objects
    By chrisr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-08-29, 11:19 PM
  4. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 2006-02-21, 06:26 PM
  5. Mtext copy and paste problem
    By blaine.67000 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-07-29, 04:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •