Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    116
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    It is not possible with the ActiveX API to let the user add or manipulate an object while seeing the object move, scale or rotate. This is a major problem for me because all our text and blocks are inserted using VBA routines. If the user doesn't get the judgement correct they have to remanipulate the object.

    Regards - Nathan

  2. #2
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    I've hated this too. We should not need to resort to 3rd-party fixes to do this.

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    116
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    Hi Robert,
    Do you know of 3rd-party-fix for 2004/2005 that works. The one I was hoping to use does not work with 2004.
    Regards - Nathan

  4. #4
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2002-10
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    This is my number one wish for the API. User interaction with the drawing environment is one of the most lacking areas of the API.

    Jim

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    You can kinda get it to work by loading and running Lisp routines and commands using the SendCommand method but that can get unpredictable at times. It does however work the majority of the time.

  6. #6
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    Quote Originally Posted by williams.60073
    You can kinda get it to work by loading and running Lisp routines and commands using the SendCommand method but that can get unpredictable at times. It does however work the majority of the time.
    We are aware of the hacks. We would be far happier to not have to deal with them. SendCommand is not a viable method in many cases.

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    Maybe some of us aren't aware of the hacks and with something as simple as inserting blocks this method would work great because the SendCommand method would be the last function called and even if it does screw up the order and send the commands last it would still work. Until the powers that be step up and add this into standard VBA, I think this is a good work around and for those who didn't know about it have partly had their "wish" granted for now.

  8. #8
    The Silent Type RobertB's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-01
    Location
    Seattle WA USA
    Posts
    5,859
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    SendCommand won't work correctly even in your sample case if the programmer needs to do post-processing on the BlockRef.

  9. #9
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Posts
    116
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: ActiveX API - Dynamic Graphic Manipulation

    Quote Originally Posted by RobertB
    SendCommand won't work correctly even in your sample case if the programmer needs to do post-processing on the BlockRef.
    I have a fairly extreme workaround for my replacement copy command that processes the newly created objects. I create a selectionset of all objects in the drawing and as the copy command does not execute until the routine finishes I instantiate a class with an EndCommand event handler. To ensure the handler is fired I can disable toolbars, menus and certain keystrokes to prevent the user from canceling the command. Once the event handler is fired I compare the selectionset with a new one, reenable all input and destroy the instance of the class. This is an extreme workaround that works well in this case but with the insert command when there are no attributes it is even simpler because the code pauses for user input but when there are attributes I need to use the full solution which in this case causes a fatal error.
    This is definately my biggest wish for AutoCAD.
    Regards - Nathan

Similar Threads

  1. Navisworks Activex for IE 10
    By shridhar355157 in forum Dot Net API
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-01-31, 01:08 AM
  2. ActiveX Error Help....?
    By CADdancer in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-04-05, 04:17 PM
  3. ActiveX для IE
    By sapr.220168 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-02-16, 12:17 PM
  4. Dynamic block parameter manipulation
    By sakinen in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-06-26, 03:08 PM
  5. ActiveX API - Layer Filter Manipulation
    By ntaylor in forum API Wish List
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2004-09-08, 10:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •