See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    when i open 2006 any and all blocks and/or drawings inserted come in way too small-.0833 to be exact. was told to type in INSUNITS at the command line, and reset to (0). Now how can i reset that permanently, instead of everytime i open 2006?
    thanks for any help.
    pj

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict jaberwok's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    0,0,0 The Origin
    Posts
    8,570
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Hi Pamela. Welcome.
    AFAIK, you can't alter the behaviour of existing drawings without opening them.
    You can alter the future behaviour of drawings that you will start from scatch by starting the QNEW command and noting which is your default template file. Open that file, set Insunits to zero and save back to the default template.

  3. #3
    100 Club Lemons's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-06
    Location
    Beautiful Charleston, SC
    Posts
    182
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by jaberwok
    Hi Pamela. Welcome.
    AFAIK, you can't alter the behaviour of existing drawings without opening them.
    You can alter the future behaviour of drawings that you will start from scatch by starting the QNEW command and noting which is your default template file. Open that file, set Insunits to zero and save back to the default template.
    And you could put a line in your acad200xdoc.lsp (x being your version qualifier) to set insunits to zero whenever you open a dwg. I set several things with mine.

    Here's the text you can add at the end of your acad200xdoc.lsp:

    (DEFUN S::STARTUP ()
    (command "insunits" "0")
    (PRINC))

    This will work, just be sure that you save a copy of your acad200xdoc.lsp to a filename like acad200xdoc-orig.lsp before you edit the acad200xdoc.lsp. My acad2007doc.lsp was in the folder "C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2007".

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,096
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemons
    And you could put a line in your acad200xdoc.lsp (x being your version qualifier) to set insunits to zero whenever you open a dwg. I set several things with mine.

    Here's the text you can add at the end of your acad200xdoc.lsp:

    (DEFUN S::STARTUP ()
    (command "insunits" "0")
    (PRINC))

    This will work, just be sure that you save a copy of your acad200xdoc.lsp to a filename like acad200xdoc-orig.lsp before you edit the acad200xdoc.lsp. My acad2007doc.lsp was in the folder "C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2007".
    I'd recommend you not use the Autodesk supplied ACAD200XDOC.LSP file for your customization.

    Check out the comparison of the acad*.lsp files.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    Albania
    Posts
    423
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie
    I'd recommend you not use the Autodesk supplied ACAD200XDOC.LSP file for your customization.

    Check out the comparison of the acad*.lsp files.
    Can we make a lisp file and to add in startup suite maybe is more sample for new users.
    How do you think.

  6. #6
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,096
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by arbenallaraj
    Can we make a lisp file and to add in startup suite maybe is more sample for new users.
    How do you think.
    I would recommend following the procedures in the link I provided.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  7. #7
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemons
    And you could put a line in your acad200xdoc.lsp (x being your version qualifier) to set insunits to zero whenever you open a dwg. I set several things with mine.

    [ SNIP ]
    Hi Celie

    and especially after I wrote the following for you back in the old Guild days (I still have the original email to prove it)...

    RE: Autosave every 5 minutes

    RE: acad.lsp

    Mike

  8. #8
    AUGI Director scott.wilcox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    990
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Another less quick, but more thorough solution is to write a script file and execute it with scriptpro, which comes with AutoCAD's migration tools (or used to, at least). We also used the opportunity to set several variables in the drawing:INSUNITSDEFSOURCE, INSUNITSDEFTARGET, BASE among others.

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,504
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Cool Re: Permanently set INSUNITS to 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie
    I would recommend following the procedures in the link I provided.
    Thanks for the advice, I had read/heard that before but didn't understand how to customize the way wanted to. It kind of goes back to earlier releases where you created and put the file acad.lsp in the support path and it gets found. I think in 2000 when the acad200xdoc.lsp came with AutoCAD it got confusing (at least with me). I thought "great, I'll just add my start up stuff here!"

    Anywho, I just placed my startup stuff in a seperate file named acad.lsp and simply put it into the <autocad>\Support folder and everything's fine.
    My acad.lsp looks like:
    Code:
      (defun s::startup ()
          (SETVAR "OSMODE" 703)
          (SETVAR "REGENMODE" 1)
          (SETVAR "GRIDMODE" 0)
          (SETVAR "SNAPMODE" 0)
          (SETVAR "LIMCHECK" 0)
          (SETVAR "BLIPMODE" 0)
          (SETVAR "PLINEGEN" 1)
          (SETVAR "UCSICON" 1)
          (SETVAR "MIRRTEXT" 0)
          (SETVAR "BINDTYPE" 1)
          (SETVAR "INSUNITS" 0)
          (SETVAR "DIMASSOC" 2)
          (SETVAR "VISRETAIN" 1)
          (SETVAR "FILEDIA" 1)
          (SETVAR "INSBASE"  (list 0.0 0.0 0.0))
          (PRINC)
      )
    These are my favorite settings upon opening each drawing.
    Last edited by tedg; 2007-03-09 at 09:09 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting INSUNITS variable
    By ivan.hudak87583861 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-11-27, 06:59 PM
  2. INSUNITS
    By lee.harte.166277 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-05-01, 08:13 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •