Thread: CAD Manager or Consultant providing similar functions, which job to go for?

Login to Give a bone

Question CAD Manager or Consultant providing similar functions, which job to go for?

How would you choose between the 2 for a job? Would you rather work as a consultant for multiple firms in the architectural industry, or work for one specific firm that has multiple offices as a CAD manager?

Job details would be similar between the 2 jobs, in that I would provide training, implementation of software and tech support for autodesk products. The main difference would be location. Curently I work as a consultant for firms providing these resources. I have always gotten offers to come on board at the firms I work with and these offers have gotten more attractive lately. Not due to money, but more because of wanting to get exposure in a different environment.

What type of things should I be wary of before excepting a position as a cad manager? How do I know if this is a job I want to get into? If you are a CAD manager, what things do you love/hate about your job?

I'd appreciate any feedback provided!

I could stop if I wanted to
    Login to Give a bone

Default Re: CAD Manager or Consultant providing similar functions, which job to go for?

have been a consultant too - had a hasty life, flying from customer to customer, digging into the software - it was interesting, exiting, it shaped me. made me more mature and sharpened my skills. But had little spare time, coulnd't make private appointments with friends because i didn't know in advance or i would be free that day

be a cad manager now - the job is similar, but contacts with "the client" is more intens, you can consult, execute, and see you work being used in production - not possible as beeing consultant. you become more business wise as you dig into more detail of the scope of one compagny. Still stressy at times - still interesting and exciting.

Login to Give a bone