See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Formula Tricks

  1. #11
    All AUGI, all the time clog boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Location
    Probably near a PC.
    Posts
    843
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Formula Tricks

    I learned a very neat trick yesterday. You ever get 'inconsistent units' as result from a formula? For instance if you wanted to multiply moolah with area with integer with bingzoombang? There's one real obvious way to make everything unitless.

    Example: =(Cost/1$)*(Area/1m²)*(bingzoombang/1bzb)

    Or in other words, just divide the parameter with one instance of it's own unit. The order in which you process everything will make a difference too, but if you really hit this one snag and don't have time or a superbly overflowing know-how to solve it 'the right way', make it unitless and you'll get the right result every darn time.

    1320mm/1mm = 1320. 8ft/1ft = 8. 1320 sq.ft/1sq.ft = 1320. $1,836,249/$1 = 1,836,249. Easy like that. It's not even a workaround, it's the right mathematical way to go around with processing numbers.


    Now suppose you have a formula and only want one parameter to be interactive. Height = Length / 2 will make both interactive.
    You can add a dummy parameter, but that's just clutter. My way: Height = if(Length>0, Length/2, 0)

  2. #12
    AUGI Addict truevis's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    1,191
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Formula Tricks

    This does what a lookup table does (without requiring RME):

    Tap Thickness = if(Tap Diameter < 0' 1 1/4", 0' 1 1/16", if(Tap Diameter < 0' 2", 0' 1 5/16", if(Tap Diameter < 0' 2 1/2", 0' 1 5/8", if(Tap Diameter < 0' 3", 0' 1 5/8", if(Tap Diameter < 0' 3 1/2", 0' 1 3/4", if(Tap Diameter < 0' 5", 0' 2 1/4", 0' 3 11/16"))))))

  3. #13
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2009-07
    Posts
    108
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Formula Tricks

    Please help me de-bug my formula. IF ( H_LEFT > H_RIGHT ) H_LEFT , H_RIGHT ) and I am getting a "VERIaBLE NOT EXPECTED" error. I have two fields with lengths in them and i want to do a calculated formula in my scedule that says whichever of the two is the higher value than put it in this new cell. I can write it in excel but it's now working right in Revit.

    Thanks!

  4. #14
    All AUGI, all the time CADastrophe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2012-01
    Location
    Site of the next CADaclysm
    Posts
    813
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Formula Tricks

    The only issue with this is that the IF statement is closed after the conditional statement, which would produce an error. That first closed parenthesis should simply be a comma, instead.

    IF ( H_LEFT > H_RIGHT , H_LEFT , H_RIGHT )

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: How to use this Formula,"Formula That Returns Strings"?
    By mike99 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-01-09, 06:28 AM
  2. Tips und Tricks ?
    By homer_312 in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-05-31, 01:40 PM
  3. Any Tip / Tricks Out there?
    By BCrouse in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-04-19, 07:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •