See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Autolisp and Civil 3D

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    17
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Question Autolisp and Civil 3D

    Does anyone know if autolisp routines that work with Land Desktop 2006 will work with Civil 3D? My company is planning on upgrading to Civil 3D later this year and I'm wondering if I'm going to have to do a lot of program updating.

  2. #2
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    1 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autolisp and Civil 3D

    Yes and no.

    Civil-3D and Land Desktop are two completely different programs. So all Lisp functions that use ONLY the base Autocad functionality should also work in C3D, although there may be caveats when working with C3D entities.

    As far as Lisp routines specifically written for Land Desktop and using Land Desktop functionality, count on none of those working. Many will now be unnecessary. Others you may want to convert to work with C3D. And you'll probably come up with new ones for C3D that you didn't have for Land Desktop.

    As far as Lisp (and VBA) programming in general, though, that's being deprecated in many ways, in favor of .NET programming. I'm sure Lisp and VBA will still be supported for the foreseeable future, but Autodesk seems to be focusing primarily on the .NET stuff. The .NET interface is still lacking some pieces, and it's still necessary to use COM objects mixed in with the .NET objects occasionally, but it's getting better, and the complex stuff is much easier to implement in .NET than in Lisp. I would recommend using the transition to C3D as an opportunity to break the link with Lisp, and start out using .NET instead.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2006-04
    Posts
    17
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autolisp and Civil 3D

    Thanks for the insight. When you say .NET programming, would that be like VB.NET or is this another animal?

  4. #4
    AUGI Addict sinc's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    1,986
    0 Did you find this post helpful? Yes

    Default Re: Autolisp and Civil 3D

    Quote Originally Posted by abain.117305
    Thanks for the insight. When you say .NET programming, would that be like VB.NET or is this another animal?
    That's one. I prefer C#.NET, but they're pretty similar. The .NET part is the same for both.

Similar Threads

  1. Accessing Civil 3D with AutoLisp
    By abain.117305 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-12-04, 11:17 PM
  2. Se puede instalar civil 3D 2009 y civil 3D 2010 en un mismo Windows
    By wuari in forum Español - AutoCAD Civil 3D
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-11-22, 03:27 AM
  3. Installed 2010 Civil 3D and lost menus for Civil 3D in 2009
    By sbullinger in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-09-10, 04:00 PM
  4. Incompatibilidade dos Estilos do Civil 2009 para o Civil 2008
    By werneckad in forum Português - AutoCAD Civil 3D / AutoCAD Land Desktop / AutoCAD Map 3D
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-09-12, 07:25 PM
  5. Civil 3D 2007 - How does file structure and standards relate to Civil 3D
    By eleonard in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-22, 06:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •